VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi.

Is it possible to do this? I'm a rookie.

I'm looking for a visual way to convert a video and remove the interlacing with QTGMC, the problem is that I've never used this filter and no idea how to install it, the Avisynth documentation is very confusing, I appreciate any help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. HandBrake doesn't incorporate QTGMC or AviSynth. It can be made to open AviSynth scripts with a virtual file system (avfs) but then you still need to know about AviSynth "programming" and QTGMC installation and avfs installation/usage.

For a beginner that only wants GUI/ease of use I would recommend either:
    A.) HandBrake deinterlacing (lower quality than QTGMC but easy to use and often much faster) or
    B.) use QTGMC through a different software, namely StaxRip which includes all the plugins.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Thanks sneaker, I'll go try it and tell you.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM
    sneaker

StaxRip was very useful to me, it's just what I was looking for, but I can't find the toon filter, can you tell me how to install it?

And one last query I need to set up to keep the same video quality?
    I'm not looking to reduce the size or anything else just to keep the quality, of course, I don't want it to be bigger than the original either.
    Quote Quote  
  5. QTGMC is usually not the right choice for animation.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Yes, perhaps you could provide a 10 second sample cut from your DVD (or other) source? If from a DVD, DGIndex can be used to cut a small section for upload here.

You can find Toon, together with the other required filters and example of its use at the AviSynth Wiki. Always look there first when looking for something.

If you want your version to be the same size as the source, find out the bitrate of the source and use that when reencoding.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Search PM