VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi,

I am new to virtualdub2. My first steps were not very successfull in the part of quality. Maybe someone could help me. What I want to do: Ihave old *.pmv files (this is the video part of 4:3 mpgs, YUV 420, 720x576)

With TmpGenc 2.5 Plus I crop/resize these files and encode it to 16:9 with high qualitiy (CQ 100). When I do this with VD2 (Lanczos. Save as *.m2v) , the quality is poor - compared with TMPGenc - but very fast. A little bit better when I use RGB.

When I open the file, it is opened by MPEG-2 Plugin v4.5. It could only be saved if I use "All files *.* " I cannot find any dialog to save the same, like it opened... But If I save it as *.mp4 the quality is the same.

Is there a way to improve this quality? An extern mpeg2-encoder? Any idea howto?

Regards
    Thomas
    Quote Quote  
  2. VirtualDub doesn't have a an MPEG 2 encoder. What compression codec are you using in VirtualDub?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    I get an mpeg2 file with "Uncompressed RGB/YCbCr" ...
    Quote Quote  
  4. You might be naming it with an MPG extension but that doesn't make it an MPG file or MPEG compression.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search PM
    Ok. How can I use a real mpeg encoder with virtualdub 2 ? Is there any howto?
    Quote Quote  
  6. The only MPEG2 encoder I know of for VirtualDub is in the old versions of ffmpeg (it was removed several years ago). You might be able to use HCEnc as an external encoder (look for instructions on how to use external encoders with VirtualDub). Or maybe you can frameserve to HcEnc or HcGUI via an AviSynth script.

Do you really need MPEG 2? Are you making DVDs?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Search PM
    I only use mpeg2, because I have many, many films - saved from my Topfield Receiver (Sat), cutting it and Kodi it from NAS or copying to and playing it from the receiver.