VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Firstly I must apologise for my lack of knowledge about the technical aspects of DVD copying. I'm a retired CGI professional (30 years+), I've authored DVDs for lectures using Premiere, and consider myself technically savvy - I can even write image processing code - but I've never delved into the mysteries of video codecs etc. So I'm approaching this at ground level, as it were.

What I want to do is to back up some (probably between 100 and 200 disks) of my DVD collection onto a hard drive, which I would then leave plugged into my TV so that I would have all the content available. These are mostly TV shows with multiple seasons and multiple disks in each season. The main reason I want to do this - apart from convenience - is that some of the older disks are deteriorating, and will now only play on my PC and not on my DVD player. I really don't want to have to buy them again - even if I did, some are no longer available.

I realise that I can make ISO images of the disks and burn new DVDs (which I will do anyway with the worst ones) but my perfect solution would be to transfer the lot onto a hard drive.

My ideal requirements would be:
    1) No loss in video or audio quality
    2) Retain subtitles

and I would like, if possible, to:
    3) Remove spurious ads and trailers
    4) Remove time-wasting animations before menus appear
    5) Substitute my own menu system for accessing episodes quickly.

I don't expect to do this on the cheap; I'm happy to buy (and learn to use) any appropriate DVD ripping and authoring software. I'll buy a new TV if that helps. I also know that this will take a lot of time - that doesn't worry me either, as I'm retired.

My problem is that even after reading up on this at some length on multiple websites, I still am no nearer to understanding how to go about it - i.e, which is the most appropriate format? Which is the best software?