VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or buy Replay Video Capture or PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, etc! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I want to do a loss less 4k trim of a mp4 file but it only gives me a mkv file. I want the output to be a mp4 file. my editing program doesn't accept mkv. steve
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Budman1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NORTHWEST ILLINOIS, USA
    Search Comp PM
    [but it only gives me a mkv... it? Doesn't explain what IT is. Neither does... my editing program...? Are you open to other programs or do you need help with IT? There are several others that should work. It sounds as if you wish to cut and join using copy and then edit with another program. Correct?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    You could use Xmedia Recode to quickly convert MKV to MP4. Set the output to MP4 and set video and audio streams to copy.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    philippines
    Search Comp PM
    thanks for the advice. I will try xmedia recode.I use that all the time. My files are 4K, 100mbps, 25 to 80 gig files. I tried to open a 27 gig video with avidemux, and it froze the computer,
    so I had to power it down and turn it on again. So maybe there's a limit on how large a file you can work on.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by shb777 View Post
    thanks for the advice. I will try xmedia recode.I use that all the time. My files are 4K, 100mbps, 25 to 80 gig files. I tried to open a 27 gig video with avidemux, and it froze the computer,
    so I had to power it down and turn it on again. So maybe there's a limit on how large a file you can work on.
    The limit is your hardware; you need massive amounts of ram to work with files that large; AviDemux is trying to load that file into ram and since there's nothing left for any other running program, your system will freeze.

    AviDemux is the wrong app to use to work with files that large unless you have lots of ram, and I mean LOTS.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Use dmMediaConverter Split mode and put .mp4 at the output file name. Very easy!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I'm thinking of buying 8 gig more. that would give me 12. I have another computer that has 16. is that enough?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I'd like to try the dmMediaConverter - v2.1.0 but i haven't been able to download it.
    Quote Quote  
  9. MP4Tools(MP4Splitter) did the job for me.
    https://www.mp4joiner.org/en/
    All I wanted, it was to cut approximately 10GB MP4 file into 3/4 parts without re-encode, and software did it fine.
    Definitely it can be done with ffmpeg and command line, but with GUI, it was easier for me.
    Maybe there will be problems with your files, because as you said, you have BIG ones. But give it a try, software is free, and simple to use.
    Last edited by TempUser_; 18th Jul 2018 at 11:15.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads