VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Ya'll. I am a newbie to both this site and to A/V work. In fact, prior to this I have only been an avid consumer of media. I have for a while now been contemplating a delima. I have an extensive collection of DVDs (500+) and am planning to downsize to an RV for full time travel upon retirement. Space is precious in an RV and I can not take the collection with me in its current format. I do not want to lose my DVD collection so I started thinking of building a small server on which to load my collection and then share to my TVs (one main and one bedroom) via PLEX. I might occasionally also use this to share via WiFi to a PC or tablet for outside viewing and would also like to use this for my music files as well. Unfortunately the more research and reading I do on the subject the more confused I've become. So here is my questions for you.

1) With size and energy usage being a challenge what is better, A pre-built NAS, compatible with PLEX, such as a Synology or Qnap or to build a system using a supermico server chassis or mini-tower PC?

2) What are the best A/V formats to use to get the best quality while limiting each of the movie file sizes to around 8Gb or smaller? On other sites the general consensus seems to be MP4/x-264 and AGC but most of my music was previously ripped to MP3 or WAV.

3) To achieve this using my PC (w/ Win7 pro)what software would you recommend for easiest and quickest approach to accomplish this.