VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello everyone!

I have been purchasing WD external hard drives for my PC for about 10 years now. I have always been extremely happy with their hard drives. Every two years or so, I buy a new WD hard drive (always upgrading space), and I just copy all of my old files to the new hard drive, and store the old hard drive away in my closet.

In any case, I recently bought a My Book 8TB drive. I ended up having major problems with it, problems I have never experienced in the 10 years I've been buying WD hard drives.

After opening the hard drive, I copied all of my files (all digital pictures) to it from my old hard drive (about 319 GB of pictures). I copied it straight to the main hard drive "folder" itself. Like usual, it turned out there were 2 or 3 files that had names that were too big, so it gave me an error message stating something like, "this file is too big to be copied." This was no big deal. So I changed the name of these two or three files on the original hard drive, and then copied them over to my new hard drive. All was good.

However, then I ran into some significant problems. After copying all files over, I then created a new folder called "Family Pictures" on the new hard drive. I moved all copied files into this new folder. The move completed without any error messages whatsoever. I checked to see how many files were under "Family Pictures" (under "Properties"), and it was the correct number.