VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    I have a question about how to record a file off a UK Sky HD box

    Where should I ask it please?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    You are in the right place to ask the question.

    The answer is both simple and complex. I assume you want to capture as HD and AFAIK a $ky box only has one hdmi output. So you require a hdmi splitter which, as it says, splits the signal with a cable going back to your tv and a second cable to your capture device.

    Now it gets complicated. The chances are that the hdmi signal from the $ky box is copy-protected by HDCP. Now there are some hdmi splitters out there that actually defeat that copy-protection so the recording is possible. There are several topics on here that discuss these splitters but there is no guarantee that the one you buy that appears to defeat the protection will be exactly the same and your recording will fail.

    The same situation will apply if your have a $ky +HD Box and directly record to the box and then attempt to re-capture from there.

    If your box, and older ones did, have an analogue output (scart) as well as hdmi then you can capture direct from that. Of course your recording will be SD and not HD.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, thanks for the reply. I was going to post into the recommended section, but seeing as youíve replied to my query somewhat, Iíll comtinue here if thatís ok?

    The Sky Box in question is at my girlfriends house (some 280 miles away!) so Iíve asked her if it has a scart socket.

    I want the cheapest possible way to to do this as itís going to be a ďone use onlyĒ scenario. Thereís a news recording featiring her son that she doesnít want to lose. (Cancel Sky or whatever at some point).

    So it doesnít need to be in HD, the origimal recording might not even be in HD anyway as itís just a news segment (I assume). So fingers crossed there is a scart socket.

    I will report back when I find out if it has a scart socket.

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    NP. When in doubt this this correct place to post. Often people then see a more appropriate place and post the self same thing in that forum. And the mods are not too pleased to see that.

    $ky news does transmit in HD but also in SD.

    280 miles !!!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Now if this is, conceivably, the only time you need to transfer a recording from the $ky box I would not waste time and money on getting capture equipment.

    My suggestion is even more 'basic'. If you can beg, steal or borrow an IPad just point that at the tv screen and record to it. Failing that a good quality mobile phone will also do the trick. Needs a steady hand and be directly in front of the screen with no angle but as a news report it should not be very long.

    The other suggestion is for your GF to contact $ky News and they may be generous to forward the clip to her. Do also check on line at their site in case it is already there.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, thanks for the replies. I do habe an Ipad so thats an option. I would like to try and get a proper copy if possible though and I have had comfirmation that there is a scart socket. So assuming that the recording is in SD, what type of lead would I require to link to a PC? Is there a Scart to USB?? Would I need any particular software?

    I guess that if it is in HD then it would still copy but need to be unencrypted?

    I donít mind spending a few pounds on a lead to give it a try.

    Any further advice appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    It does not matter if the recording is HD. The signal out of the scart will be SD and no copy-protection.

    Now comes the costly bit especially for a 'one off'. You need a capture device that will connect to a PC via usb. Plus a lead that has scart at one end and RCA at the end that goes in to the capture device. Instead of the lead you can get an scart/RCA adapter and use the cable that comes with the capture device. A decent capture device plus cable/adapter will set you back appr. £40. You might get away with one of these £10 devices called easycap normally known as easycrap on here yet none would recc them. The genuine (since most of these are Chinese knock-offs) is called a EZCap116. Hence my suggestion about the IPad and use ITunes to get the video from the device to the PC.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, weíre getting somewhere now �� so can you recommend any capture devices? Iíll keep my eyes open for a second hand one (whichever you recommend). You never know, I might get lucky on ebay, or failing that I could try an easycrap? or steady hand and ipad.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Well the only usb device I could actually recc is one I have used (and still own) a Hauppuage Usb Live 2. You are unlikely to ever see one of these SH on fleabay.

    I had a quick look there and saw a raft of sub £10 devices. Some may actually work. The main issue with these is proper drivers beyond WinXP
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Right thanks for all of your advice. Iíll give it a go. Fingers crossed.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads