VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Okay, so I am confused about all these files, and a complete newbie to them. I am working with a group to collect all the Live DVDs from a band, and organize them for sharing. Most of the DVDs I am receiving are in VTS/VOB files, and have the ifo, bup, etc, files with them. However, some of these DVDs have two completely different concerts on one DVD (for example one from 1994, and another from 2002). In order to organize all of these concert DVDs, I need to somehow split those DVDs with multiple shows into 2 separate DVDs.

It seems like it would be so simple if this was a single MP4 files, and I could split the video in two. But what do I do with the VTS files in this case? I need to separate the VOB video files, but I also need to worry about the menu/chapter aspect of everything I guess? My understanding is that's what the ifo and bup files are for.

Can some of the folks here point me in the direction of the easiest solution for doing this? I hope I've given enough info about my situation, but if I've left anything pertinent out please let me know and I'll clarify. Thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  2. You can extract each titleset using DVD Decrypter, DVD Shrink, etc. Set the file size to be unlimited. This will give you a single VOB file for each titleset. Then, use a DVD authoring program to re-author the DVD.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Or extract the titles with MakeMKV. Should your two concerts been authored as chapters (which I doubt) in a title MakeMKV can also extract individual chapters. And as said then author new DVDs.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    If you are looking to get individual songs as video files....just use DVDDecrypter.....split files "By Chapter".
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johnmeyer View Post