VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    I am very new to using ffmpeg and I am in desperate need of help. I have several videos that I am trying to split into one minute segments all at once, so that I can format them from mkv to mp4. I would like to split these videos using direct stream copy, but I am not very familiar with how to write out the correct code to do this and how I need to have my videos labeled. I do know that they all need to be in the same folder as ffmpeg. I would greatly appreciate any help, also can somebody please walk me through on how to make this a .bat file.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    This can, theoretically, be done but it has been a problem for many requesting this to get correct. Again. Basically, you have 3 types of frames or picture in a video. I, B, and P. I Frames are the only ones that are a complete picture or image. The others are the differences between the frame before, after, or both. FFMpeg likes to split at I-Frames and these are not typically at 1 minute intervals so you would be trying to cut at a B or a P frame image which is not a complete picture with nothing to reference to in preceding frames. Cutting with COPY is VERY difficult for this reason.

It may or may not work depending on the format, codec involved, point at cut and a lot of other factors. What you will usually get is a non-playable segment, a segment that freeze frames for several seconds, a segment that is not the minute you want and other problems.

If, as I understand your request, you have MKV videos and you wish to break into 1 minute MP4's, then letting it re-code the cut segments into an MP4 would make it easier to obtain what you wish. It is possible to repackage some MKV videos tp MP4 without re-coding but at 1 minute intervals may give undesirable results.