+ Reply to Thread
Results 31 to 37 of 37
-
I found that script on Doom 9 a while back (authored by a poster named 'le capitain' in 2011), and found it very useful......
Way beyond my own script writing skills, so I never knew quite which of the 2 functions 'slowdn' and 'speedup' I should use when I wanted to keep a section of a clip at the same speed. Probably neither I suspect..
But I wouldn't know - for example - how to maintain the last 50 or 100 frames at the end of a clip as all being 0.5 speed..... I would probably just write it as a slowdn from 0.5 to 0.49 ... but I'm sure that's not a very elegant solution?... -
pippas, I actually already had that SLO-MO tab open and already had tried that, lol. But I couldn't get it to work very well. I messed around with it some more using your script, but I'm not sure what it needs. Because you have 50 frames that stay at normal speed first, and some frames at the end that stay at half speed. But that doesn't work for me because I already have the audio start at normal speed and end at half and it needs to match the video. With my audio editor, I just have a marker on the playback envelope at the beginning set to 1.0 and is set to "linear", and there's a marker at the end I have set for 0.5.
I tried just having one Slowdn and having it be Slowdn(source, 0, Framecount(source), 1.0, 0.5) but it didn't work. That seems like it would be the simplest one to do, too. And now that I've played around with the audio speed, I think it is idea to start at 0.8 speed and end at 0.45 speed, but that's beside the point.
This one looks interesting as well, but I'm doing the audio separate, so that doesn't matter. But the part I'm confused with is the up_seconds and down_seconds. I don't want it to do it for a certain number of seconds, but more for the duration of the video. I could just modify the script to match the length of each video I do I guess, but would down_seconds be for the length of the video before or after the slowdown? And would up_seconds just be 0 then?
Lastly, I've been able to successfully do this using the trial of Sony Vegas 15. The "linear" velocity envelope doesn't quite match the rate of my audio editor, but it matches it the closest out of the available settings and if I insert a halfway marker to a certain setting, then the rates match. -
I tried modifying the script line in jagabo's post#31 to - "SlowDn(last, 0, 550, 1.0, 0.5)" - but unfortunately that brings up an error here.....
I did find that the "Slowdn (source, 0, 550, 1.0, 0.5)" seems to work OK - although it only adds 11 frames to the whole sequence, so it's less than half a second longer..... Maybe it's more impressive with a longer sequence?
Where the 'smoothness' of MVTools can look more impressive than the simple frame interpolation - of functions like 'Linear Velocity' in Vegas - is with more extreme changes.
Taking 400 frames of my same 'boat' sequence, and slowing that gradually to 1/10th speed - rather than 1/2 - shows that you can retain some 'smoothness' right down to very slow speeds.... That's just not possible with simple frame interpolation.
But as the others have already made clear, 'optical flow' doesn't always work that well...Last edited by pippas; 7th May 2018 at 08:06. Reason: typo
-
Here's a sample function to linearly slow the clip to 1/2 speed:
Code:##################################################################### function SlowFPS(clip v, int num, int den) { # pick the method you want # ChangeFPS(v, num, den) # duplicate frames # ConvertFPS(v, num, den) # blended frames SmoothFPS2(v, num, den) #motion interpolated frames # Interframe(v, NewNum=num, NewDen=den, cores=4) # doesn't work } ##################################################################### function SlowToHalf(clip v) { v+BlankClip(v, length=v.framecount/2) Animate(0,last.framecount, "SlowFPS", \ last, int(last.framerate * 1000), 1000, \ last, int((last.framerate + last.framerate/2) * 1000), 1000) } ##################################################################### WhateverSource("filename.ext") SlowToHalf()
-
-
I found that sometimes there would be a dark frame at the end -- because of the BlankClip() function used to lengthen the source clip in SlowToHalf(). To eliminate that change:
Code:v+BlankClip(v, length=v.framecount/2)
Code:v.Loop(v.framecount/2, v.framecount-1, v.framecount-1)
Code:function SlowToHalf(clip v) { v.Loop(v.framecount/2, v.framecount-1, v.framecount-1) Animate(0,last.framecount, "SlowFPS", \ last, int(last.framerate * 1000), 1000, \ last, int((last.framerate + last.framerate/2) * 1000), 1000) }
Similar Threads
-
Slowing down video with Avidemux?
By AshleyQuick in forum Video ConversionReplies: 4Last Post: 17th Mar 2018, 17:55 -
Slowing down video playback speeds just a little....
By Arcadiune in forum Video Streaming DownloadingReplies: 4Last Post: 18th Nov 2017, 12:02 -
problems slowing down video
By asiletto in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 6Last Post: 29th Mar 2015, 13:18 -
Slowing down a video gradually. Or speeding it up. But gradually.
By john1967 in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 8Last Post: 19th Mar 2015, 21:47 -
.TS video slowing down in a preview window, but fine on the timeline
By Mayx in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 5Last Post: 31st Jul 2014, 23:50