VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or buy Replay Video Capture or PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, etc! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Thread
  1. Hi

    I got a Sony EV-T2 which I'll be using to capture our old Video8/Hi8 videotapes and some VHS tapes.

    However, my 'good' capture card, the Hauppauge USB-Live2 has some odd way of handling unstable input, compared to my inferior Dazzle DVC100

    Which is an example of what I see A LOT of when there's unstable input:


    Where-as the Dazzle handles it way better: https://i.imgur.com/hKIHjBb.gif

    The VCR has a built-in TBC and I've got no money for an external one, those things really seem too pricey for me, so I was wondering if I could use the Panasonic ES-10 as passthrough to fix these issues? It just so happens a guy is selling one of em in my town.

    Thanks,
    Quote Quote  
  2. I went ahead and bought the ES10. Seems like it fixes the issue pretty well
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Search PM
    Congrats. Panasonic put some very capable processing into the ES10 and ES15. Matsushita has much deeper experience with consumer video than many of the companies that build dedicated TBCs.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Can I ask does the ES-10 capture at 720x576? Im in PAL land and looking at using it to capture unsteady video.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by Bassquake View Post
    Can I ask does the ES-10 capture at 720x576? Im in PAL land and looking at using it to capture unsteady video.
    Sure does, same resolution as always
    Quote Quote  
  6. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Kocane View Post
    I went ahead and bought the ES10. Seems like it fixes the issue pretty well
    As you found out, for that specific error, yes it will likely work. It was just a severe timing error, almost like tearing.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Kocane View Post
    Originally Posted by Bassquake View Post
    Can I ask does the ES-10 capture at 720x576? Im in PAL land and looking at using it to capture unsteady video.
    Sure does, same resolution as always
    Ta very muchly! Was concerned with some posts saying it did 704 instead of 720.
    Last edited by Bassquake; 11th Jul 2018 at 09:38. Reason: Detail on why.
    Quote Quote  
  8. People are using the ES10 as a passthrough device. It's analog in, analog out. So only the capture device determines what resolution is being captured. Of course, the ES10 is digitizing internally but we have no way of determining at what resolution it's working at. In any case, it's pretty transparent when set up properly.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I was just going to record straight to its built in dvd-r. I wanted to check the final vobs would be 720.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis MN
    Search Comp PM
    In that case, the ES-10 like most Panasonics prior to '06 will be 704.
    https://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/1134909-panasonic-dvd-re...-features.html
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
    In that case, the ES-10 like most Panasonics prior to '06 will be 704.
    https://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/1134909-panasonic-dvd-re...-features.html
    Bum. Ok, looks like the ES-15 might be a better alternative.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Why do you need 720 rather than 704? With most sources all you'll get is more black borders at the edges.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis MN
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Bassquake View Post
    Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
    In that case, the ES-10 like most Panasonics prior to '06 will be 704.
    https://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/1134909-panasonic-dvd-re...-features.html
    Bum. Ok, looks like the ES-15 might be a better alternative.
    Yes the ES-15 as well as the very similar ES-25 have full 720 resolution. Note some people(me not one of them) like the ES-20 due to it using LSI silicon, not sure if that model would work for you but in my market anyway I see quite a few ES-20s pop up. North American Panasonics after '06 also have LSI silicon again which I find to be a bit quirky(buggy) for my liking.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Yep. I just ordered a es15 for now. Hopefully will do the job.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Some misinformation and misunderstandings in this thread...

    - For PAL, no s-video out for ES15.
    - The ES20 and ES25 do not fix errors on passthrough, not at all like ES10/15 units.
    - The ES10/ES15 is not transparent, but sometimes only solution.
    - 704 vs 720 is nothing to worry about. Not better/worse scenario, just different.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
    Some misinformation and misunderstandings in this thread...

    - For PAL, no s-video out for ES15.
    - The ES20 and ES25 do not fix errors on passthrough, not at all like ES10/15 units.
    - The ES10/ES15 is not transparent, but sometimes only solution.
    - 704 vs 720 is nothing to worry about. Not better/worse scenario, just different.
    - There's s-video out on the back of the PAL ES15. In is via the front (annoyingly).
    - Good to know.
    - Not sure whats meant by "transparent". Are you referring to possible changes to picture?
    - Id prefer to use full D1 resolution.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by Bassquake View Post
    - Not sure whats meant by "transparent". Are you referring to possible changes to picture?
    Yes. With VHS, the benefits of the line TBC usually far outweigh the other minor changes like black/white levels, etc.

    Originally Posted by Bassquake View Post
    - Id prefer to use full D1 resolution.
    Both 704 and 720 are full D1 resolution. The resolution of the active picture is the same. 720 simply captures more at the sides of the frame. Those extra 8 pixels at the left and right are usually just black, not part of the active picture. 720 gives you a little more leeway in case the cap is off center.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Bassquake View Post
    - Not sure whats meant by "transparent". Are you referring to possible changes to picture?
    No analog processing device is transparent, meaning that it does its job and leaves a perfect picture behind. Then again, you may rightly question the advice, however forcefully delivered, of someone who doesn't know that there is an s-video output on the PAL ES-15.

    I use an NTSC ES-15. Its black level output is a little too high. That's not "transparent."
    Quote Quote  
  19. Originally Posted by JVRaines View Post
    I use an NTSC ES-15. Its black level output is a little too high. That's not "transparent."
    And, of course, you can adjust for that with the capture device's proc amp settings. You have to do that anyway since VHS usually has bad levels.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Forgot I have DMR-EZ28 which I lent to someone that I can use. D'oh. Guess Ill see which will win in ES-15 vs EZ-28!
    Quote Quote  
  21. "Forgot I have DMR-EZ28 which I lent to someone that I can use. D'oh. Guess Ill see which will win in ES-15 vs EZ-28!"
    ez28 has HDMI out which you can use to capture digitally with HDMI capture card.Panasonic ES 15 has a component out besides the usual connections which you can use with component capture card.As far as I know ez28 doesn't have the same "TBC" like ES10/15.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads