VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

I'm new to video editing. I have used GoPro Studio in the past but was at the end looking for a more advanced and better software so I bought Vegas Pro 15 Suite.

I have spent some time looking for tutorials on the internet explaining some of the fundamental stuff of editing, I even went to the library searching for books - but what I have found is either too simple or not relevant.

So I hope some kind people will take the time to explain some of the questions I have and get me started.

One of the first things I'm having a hard time to figure out is which project and render settings I should use.

At the moment I'm working on a video shot in 50fps.
    So which Project Settings should I use?

[Attachment 44882 - Click to enlarge]

I assume the upper field settings is used only for the preview (but I'm not sure).
    But I would like to know which settings I should use and why for the following fields and which one that affects the rendering: 'Pixel Format', 'Full-Resolution Rendering Quality' , 'Motion blue type' etc. etc...

Furtermore, I'm quite confused about which render settings I should use.
    Shall I consider my render settings regarding which media the video is meant to be shown on, and what if I don't?
    Can I render a video shot in 50fps in 50fps as well when it is meant to be shown on a regular TV? - I read some place that televisions work with 24fps.

[Attachment 44883 - Click to enlarge]

I have a lot of different templates to choose from when I have to render my video. Which one should I use - I have realised there is a huge different in output size.
    From the past I have always been told to use H.264 - GoPro Studio had it but it doesn't seem like Vegas has?

Hope someone can help me get started with video editing.
    More questions will probably follow

Best Regards
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM