VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Since Freemake prevented the use of their older version 3, and version 4* does not work as an editor, I've had to resort to WLMM 2012, and it cannot play/edit/save the following:

I download live wildlife cams with Jaksta Media Recorder. Whether they are saved in flv or mp4, WLMM cannot handle them (sometimes I can get a pixellated view). I have tried installing K-Lite Codec, both the full and basic versions, but that's made no difference.

I realise that WLMM is no longer supported by Microsoft, but does anyone know if there's a fix? I understand that WLMM 2012 will not take plug-ins but that 6 did, however it looks as tho that version will handle only a couple of formats, like wmv, which is no good to me.

*Since they've been selling "packs" for various features of version 4, it's stopped working altogether! I was using version 3 to scan very long files, extract and join clips with fade transitions - it was brilliant, now I'm stymied.
    Quote Quote  
  2. There are free converters that accept most formats and converts them into a file that WLMM can handle. Have you googled it?
    Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence -Carl Sagan
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    No I haven't googled for converters, TreeTops, because that's not what I need - it would take far too long to convert first (it's not unusual for my downloaded streams to be 10 hours long), it needs to be handled by the editor, which is what Freemake used to do.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Which editors have you tried other than Fremake and various versions of WMM? What is your budget? Are your computer details current?
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord, Snoopy329
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post