VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello all, i am an artist in the UK and want to use CCTV as part of an installation.

Basically, i want to have the CCTV pointing at some stairs, with the feed playing on an old TV round the corner, but on a delay. Say 20 seconds delay perhaps.

Is that possible? And if so, what equipment do i need?

Many thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    You need a video camera, a computer, and the TV. Particulars depend on what kind of signal the camera generates and the age of the TV — does it accept composite video or antenna only? For software, check out Live Video Delay. You might also be able to do this with VLC's streaming feature which has a configurable delay.
    Last edited by JVRaines; 9th Feb 2018 at 15:19.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by JVRaines View Post
    You need a video camera, a computer, and the TV. Particulars depend on what kind of signal the camera generates and the age of the TV — does it accept composite video or antenna only? For software, check out Live Video Delay. You might also be able to do this with VLC's streaming feature which has a configurable delay.

Thanks for your reply! So a video camera, not a CCTV camera? And the wire goes from camera to a computer where i use Zachpoff software to set a delay time, which then feeds to a TV?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM
    Yes, that's the general idea. Any sort of camera that will work with the computer. I'm not sure Live Video Delay goes as high as 20 seconds, though. You'd have to experiment.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I think you can use an IP security camera and VLC as a player (or other media player). Start streaming with VLC, pause for ~20 seconds (a few seconds less as there is an inherent delay when streaming), then continue.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search PM