VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey Guys!

Im a relative Newbie when it comes to video encoding but I have dabbled in the past so I have a (very) basic understanding.

I have recently purchased a new smart TV which I have discovered I can play videos from my network via dlna. I have a handfull of mkv videos most of which are compatible. However there are 2 which I have issues with.

The first ones audio is encoded useing TrueHD which my TV doesnt support. The file is a remux which I understand is basically a direct rip from a dvd, I presume this means the video is not encoded so all I need to do is unpackage the mkv file, re-encode the audio then repackage it, is this correct? If so, what would be the best way to do this with minimum qulity loss?

The second file is also an mkv remux, this one does play but my TV says that it does not support the resume feature, so I cant resume the video from where I left off. Only a minor anoyance but I was curious what part of the MKV allows resume, as all my other mkv files resume fine.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    To fix the TrueHD sound to say AC3 you the Popcorn Audio converter it does it in situ and leaves the video alone. You should also get MKVToolNix in case you need to remux a MKV file and remove elements you don't need like 6 different subtitle tracks or extra audio etc. If your TV media player section doesn't have resume play (this is not a function of MKV files but rather the media player used) you could add chapters to your MKV files if they don't already have them. Not sure if your TV has a Next button for file play back but it my be worth a try. Chapterizer https://www.videohelp.com/software/MKV-Chapterizer will do it and you can set any time interval like every 5 minutes or 10 etc...
    SONY 75" Full array 200Hz LED TV, Yamaha A1070 amp, Zidoo UHD3000, BeyonWiz PVR V2 (Enigma2 clone), Chromecast, Windows 11 Professional, QNAP NAS TS851
    Quote Quote