VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am new to video authoring. I used Movavi Video Studio to capture a video stream of my son's college baseball games. File sizes are about 11-15GB for 3 hour games

The file was saved in MP4 video, currently on my laptop and backed up on a rotating drive. I can watch the file fine on my laptop

I would like to put the games on Blue-Ray disks so my wife or parents can watch replays on their Blue-Ray/DVD player at home.

I have an LG WH16NS40 Blue-Ray writer and Movavi Video Studio 16 software (Win10 Pro, 8G RAM, 1TB SSD)

So far, I am unable to create a Blue-Ray disk I can watch on TV in my living room. My first attempt, following the directions to burn a disk, had the SW replay the entire video (3 hrs) as it converted the video. When I finished I got an error saying "program stopped working". This happened twice.

I tried to burn another game file. The file burned on the Blue-Ray (I can see the coloration) and the Sony Blue-Ray in my living room sees it, but it won't play. When I burned the disk there were some errors at the end of the process, different from the "program stopped working" error. It said something about not being able to read memory...I didn't get a screen capture.

I found a menu in Movavi for "TV readable" file or something like that, but it makes the file 31GB, too big for a standard BD and I don't know if this is the right path or not, so I don't want to by 2xBD just to try it out.

How do I take my MP4 file and put it on a Blue-Ray disk I (or my parents) can watch in my living room?

Thank you
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Some Blu-ray players can play media files burned on a Blu-ray disc as data, but others cannot or are very limited with respect to the types of media files that they can play. Your best bet is to author a Blu-ray disc to ensure playability. You can probably put about 2 hours of HD Blu-ray-compatible video on a BD-R 25GB disc.