VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello community,

I've spent hours and hours looking for a standalone app (apk) for Android that allows video encoding to H265/HEVC. The only solution I found out there is a ffmpeg sourcecode, that needs to be compiled, which is something I have zero experience with. I might have overlooked some apk that could do the job, because search engines gave me practically hundreds of results for video-players that can DEcode h265 videos ( ) . Is there any product out there, preferably one with a GUI, that can do HEVC ENcoding on Android?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I know that h.265 encoding pushes the limits of my i5 desktop and I would imagine it would be much more so for an Android box. I suggest getting yourself a desktop for such tasks. However there are people with much more knowledge here who will probably point you to a way of doing this on your Android box.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by Tom Saurus View Post
    I know that h.265 encoding pushes the limits of my i5 desktop and I would imagine it would be much more so for an Android box. I suggest getting yourself a desktop for such tasks. However there are people with much more knowledge here who will probably point you to a way of doing this on your Android box.
    Thanks. The situation is like this: I will be on a stay in a rather primitive area of our world, that can easily take several years, and most of the time I'll be without Internet and have to recharge my electronic devices with solar panels. I will have to get the most out of my cellphone's internal storage and the 200g SD-card in it. HEVC could save me 60-70% of the space, H264 would take. And since I have to live out of a backpack, a desktop computer is out of the question. It doesn't matter for me, if an encoding job takes longer.
    Quote Quote