VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello!

I am a filmmaker and I need the highest possible quality Blu-Ray disc authored using my MacPro (2009 / 10.10.5).
    I have a professional master that was delivered to me from my Post House a couple of years back... it is a 125GB ProRes 5.1/2.0 file.
    I have a DL Blu-Ray burner installed in my machine and I have checked out a plethora of forums, video tutorial etc... trying to figure out the best workflow for this but I keep in running into hurdles and/or the workflows are for copying discs that have already been authored and need to be remuxed or from non pro source material.

I am most concerned about video quality and universal playback however it would be great to make custom menus as well.
    One of the more promising workflows I have found online so far is to ENCODE with Compressor, Make Menus with Encore and then Burn with Toast.
    My hurdle with this is I can't figure out how to encode a DL BD with compressor... the default setting is for 24GB file and if possible I would like the quality to be better than that.

Any advice, pointers or links to articles or solutions would be much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    duration ื bitrate = file size
    I’m missing the duration of the movie in your description. There is a maximum bitrate in the BD specification: 48 Mbit/s max total, with 40 Mbit/s max for the video. Compressor limits that bit further to ensure a playable disc: 35 Mbit/s max. Taking VBR into account, the average bitrate should not be higher than say 30 Mbit/s. If you do push the bitrate to that, you have room for ~108 minutes of video (on SL), assuming DD audio. For a lesser duration, DL discs have no use, as using more bitrate might make the disc unplayable.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Case View Post