VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search PM
    Hi, newbie here to the video editing world.
    In Dec I had a video xfer service copy a bunch of VHS tapes to DVD.
    After watching them I want to slice and dice them up for our kids, and brothers and sister.

To do this I need to put portions of each DVD to a file, merge pieces together and copy to a DVD.

Seemed easy enough when I first thought of this project. But the further I got into it I realize, I'm way out of my league.

I read PC Mags reviews of video editing software before buying anything and found out a basic video editor comes with Windows 10 Essentials. Kewl.

I load that up and try to read my DVD. No go. I can read a video made on my phone but cannot load anything from the DVD.

Further digging made me think the guy that transferred the VHS to DVD used apple software that cannot be read by Windows Movie Maker.

So, I thought maybe I can stream the DVD but what do use to accomplish this. I've searched and saw what might be a potential solution, but thought before I jump on any solution I need advice from those who have dome something similar. So here I am.

Below is a screen shot of what I see on the DVD. Mostly audio files and how the audio and video are tied together has me confused. As these movies have sounds and voices that match up. So maybe these are not just audio files.
    As you can see I need HELP. Thx for any advice.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	dirOfDVD.JPG
Views:	103
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	44414  

Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    apple software has nothing to do with the making a dvd. they are a video spec that any o.s. can create. the vobs on the discs contain mpg video inside, and other things like subtitles. to get the video out of the vobs you can use something like vob2mpg. the free version works fine. once you have mpg video you may be able to use wmm to edit it.
    --