VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hey folks,

(Pardon if some of this may seem nonsensical.. it probably will as I am totally new to Avisynth and VirtualDub.)

I have a 16mm film scanner from moviestuff. I have a test film scanned and want to use the videoFred film restoration scripts. My film is exported as an .mov file. I have also made an uncompressed .avi file to test with. Both files will open on their own in VirtualDub. The only method I can get for the video to work with Avisynth, is using DirectShowSource, and that only works for the .avi and not the .mov. AviSource does not work. (I am probably missing a codec or file somewhere?) I have read about using QTSource for getting .mov's to work but I have had no success with this.

My sample script

DirectShowSource("C:\RetroScanExports\NEW SCANS\TEST.avi") (Works)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    AviSource("C:\RetroScanExports\NEW SCANS\TEST.avi") (Does not work) VirtualDub says it cannot open the file.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neither DirectShowSource, nor AviSource (avi or mov) work for the videoFred scripts for me yet. So I know I am doing something wrong.

I am using VirtualDub 1.10.4
    AviSynth 2.6.0
    I have FFDshow installed.
    I have GSpot installed.

I have spent the past few days reading on things but am still at a loss, so I thought I might post here and see if someone with more experience could/would help me out with getting on the right path.

Let me know if you need any other information, id be glad to provide it! Thanks for your time.
    Quote Quote  
  2. GSpot will tell you what codec (even uncompressed video needs a codec) is used in the AVI file. Download and install it. ffdshow has "raw" decoders for most uncompressed video fourcc codes.