VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23
Thread
  1. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Hello!

    I get a green frame in the beginning whenever I do a lossless conversion by Lagarith codec. That appears in VirtualDub and Sony Vegas as well, any suggestions? Thanks in advance!



    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Can you post your settings for lagarith codec? Lossless doesn't mean of course uncompressed. And what colorspace are you using for capture?

    Bernix
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Simple guess is to disable null frame. If you have it enable.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Bernix View Post
    Can you post your settings for lagarith codec? Lossless doesn't mean of course uncompressed. And what colorspace are you using for capture?

    Bernix
    Thanks for reply, here you are:


    ]
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    try to use YV12 colorspace, or even rgb (which must be enormous big file size) especially for your almost 3hrs video. But it depends on your source.
    Why are you not use multi threading?
    But I read on internet there is lots of problem with lagarith and Premiere and other NLE programs. If your problem is just one frame, you are lucky. But of course not optimal.
    My first impression was it is caused by null frame, but you have it disabled, so honestly don't know.

    Bernix
    Quote Quote  
  6. You're frame serving from Vegas to another program to create a lagarith avi? Then the problem isn't Lagarith, it's Vegas. Your source is probably long GOP and doesn't start with a keyframe. Just trim away the green frame before encoding.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Bernix View Post
    Hi,
    try to use YV12 colorspace, or even rgb (which must be enormous big file size) especially for your almost 3hrs video. But it depends on your source.
    Why are you not use multi threading?
    But I read on internet there is lots of problem with lagarith and Premiere and other NLE programs. If your problem is just one frame, you are lucky. But of course not optimal.
    My first impression was it is caused by null frame, but you have it disabled, so honestly don't know.

    Bernix
    No problem! Bernix! Thanks for your help
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    You're frame serving from Vegas to another program to create a lagarith avi? Then the problem isn't Lagarith, it's Vegas. Your source is probably long GOP and doesn't start with a keyframe. Just trim away the green frame before encoding.
    I use x264 CLI to frame serve with Vegas and Abode Premier, anyway, I will try to trim a frame! Thanks a lot! Jagabo!
    Quote Quote  
  9. Problems like this are why AVI isn't recommended for h.264 video. VFW (what most editors use to access AVI files) is based on a one-frame-in-one-frame-out model so it doesn't handle out-of-order GOPs well.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Problems like this are why AVI isn't recommended for h.264 video. VFW (what most editors use to access AVI files) is based on a one-frame-in-one-frame-out model so it doesn't handle out-of-order GOPs well.
    No, I don't encode with VFW, just the x264 CLI Avisynth and this happens whenever I make a lossless copy in VirtualDub.

    Code:
    start /b /low "x264" "H:Work\x264.exe" --preset slow --tune film --ref 8 --me umh --bframes 6 --keyint=50 --subme 9 --analyse all --merange 28 --colormatrix=smpte170m --trellis 2 --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 14000 --ratetol 3.0 --crf 22    --level 3.1  --output "H:\Movie.mkv" "E:\Hindi\Test .avs" --no-fast-pskip --no-dct-decimate --deblock -1:-1 --partitions all --rc-lookahead 60 --b-pyramid normal --direct auto --aq-strength 1.2 --psy-rd 1.2:0.25 --sar 8:9
    Quote Quote  
  11. But what is your source? (ie Before the lagarith conversion) . That's likely the problem - decoding the source
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Also you can try different VirtualDub? Have you tried VirtualDubFilterMod ? There are recently changes in capturing. It is about week old. Worth to try.

    Bernix
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    But what is your source? (ie Before the lagarith conversion) . That's likely the problem - decoding the source
    It's NTSC DVD. I encoded it then I try to do color correction in Vegas
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Bernix View Post
    Also you can try different VirtualDub? Have you tried VirtualDubFilterMod ? There are recently changes in capturing. It is about week old. Worth to try.

    Bernix
    Never heard about it but I will give it a try, Thanks, Bernix!
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    But what is your source? (ie Before the lagarith conversion) . That's likely the problem - decoding the source
    It's NTSC DVD. I encoded it then I try to do color correction in Vegas
    How did you get from DVD to lagarith ? What steps did you take ?

    Vegas can open MPEG2 directly . You can use vob2mpeg
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    But what is your source? (ie Before the lagarith conversion) . That's likely the problem - decoding the source
    It's NTSC DVD. I encoded it then I try to do color correction in Vegas
    How did you get from DVD to lagarith ? What steps did you take ?

    Vegas can open MPEG2 directly . You can use vob2mpeg
    After I encoded the video from the DVD (Mkv) then I put it in VirtualDub to get a lossless copy to do the color correction in Vegas. I used x264 CLI to re-encode it again using frame server with Vegas. Vegas didn't accept the mkv formate then I had to convert it into AVI
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    But what is your source? (ie Before the lagarith conversion) . That's likely the problem - decoding the source
    It's NTSC DVD. I encoded it then I try to do color correction in Vegas
    How did you get from DVD to lagarith ? What steps did you take ?

    Vegas can open MPEG2 directly . You can use vob2mpeg
    The problem most of these NTSC interlaced that's why I deinterlace it first in AviSynth then I do the color correction if need it.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post
    The problem most of these NTSC interlaced that's why I deinterlace it first in AviSynth then I do the color correction if need it.
    Ok, but do you see the green frame in avisynth preview ? Before encoding to lagarith

    Lagarith is I-frame only. It should be very stable in vdub or vegas without green frame or long GOP issues
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post
    The problem most of these NTSC interlaced that's why I deinterlace it first in AviSynth then I do the color correction if need it.
    Ok, but do you see the green frame in avisynth preview ? Before encoding to lagarith

    Lagarith is I-frame only. It should be very stable in vdub or vegas without green frame or long GOP issues
    No, I see this green frame after using Lagarith in VirtualDub
    Quote Quote  
  20. Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post

    The problem most of these NTSC interlaced that's why I deinterlace it first in AviSynth...
    I hope you mean to say 'unblend it', using a bobber and SRestore. That way you'll get 25fps rather than 29.97fps. NTSC Indian film DVDs need much more than deinterlacing.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    Originally Posted by TeNSoR View Post

    The problem most of these NTSC interlaced that's why I deinterlace it first in AviSynth...
    I hope you mean to say 'unblend it', using a bobber and SRestore. That way you'll get 25fps rather than 29.97fps. NTSC Indian film DVDs need much more than deinterlacing.
    Hi! manono! Yes indeed! I used a bobber and Srestore and got 25fps, then as you see I tried to adjust its color a little
    Quote Quote  
  22. Oh, okay. Good. And the color correction isn't anything you can do in AviSynth? I realize sometimes it's not ideal, but much can be done using AviSynth filters alone, even without changing colorspaces.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member TeNSoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Hungary, Debrecen
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    Oh, okay. Good. And the color correction isn't anything you can do in AviSynth? I realize sometimes it's not ideal, but much can be done using AviSynth filters alone, even without changing colorspaces.
    You're right, I think I will try AviSynth much better, Thanks for your patience guys, all the best!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads