VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hello.
    I'm currently using ffmpeg to convert my mkv files with e-ac3 audio to ac3, with this command line:

Code:
    ffmpeg  -hwaccel auto -y -i "input.mkv" -map 0 -c:s copy -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -b:a 640k "output.mkv"
    It works great, but it takes a long time when you have more than 1 file. So do you if there is a way to batch convert several files, instead of opening a different command line each time?

Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
  2. for %a in (*.mkv) do ffmpeg -y -i "%a" -map 0 -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -b:a 640k -c:s copy "output_%~na.mkv"

("%%" instead of "%" if in a batch file)
    Quote Quote  
  3. Sorry, can you explain in more details? I don't get what to do (I'm still a beginner). Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by Nico Darko View Post
    Sorry, can you explain in more details? I don't get what to do (I'm still a beginner). Thanks.
    Just create new script with provided example.
    btw '-hwaccel auto' will not increase any speed...

Code:
    for %%a in (*.mkv) do ffmpeg -y -i "%%a" -map 0 -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -b:a 640k -c:s copy "output_%%~na.mkv"
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm sorry, I know nothing about coding, I was simply given the instructions to do that one conversion, and it worked. But where do I enter the files names in that code? I have 12 in the same folder.

Sorry if I'm a pain.
    Quote Quote  
  6. You don't enter file names at all. The "for" command will automatically pick up and enter the file names for you in a loop.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Ok, that's what I thought, but I entered your command line, but it's not working, it says %%a was unexpected.
    Quote Quote  
  8. If you are entering in command line use single %
    In batch file %% (double)
    Quote Quote  
  9. OK! Now it's working! Thank you!!
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Search PM
    You can use this tool in the future for batch converting and saving your ffmpeg long presets: