VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all!

I am a noob here! Thanks for taking the time to check out my thread

I am trying to rip a couple of my Blu-Rays to my computer in order to edit them in Sony Vegas Pro 12. I'm not planning on uploading my edited videos online, just something I'm doing on my own for fun. However, I'd like to keep the quality of the videos exactly as close to the original Blu-Rays as possible (I'd do a lossless conversion if it was possible, but don't know how).

I ripped the Blu-Rays to my computer, and they look great. But now I'm using Handbrake to convert the original MKV files to MPEG-2 in order to be able to edit them in Sony Vegas Pro 12. Below are the settings I'm using - if anyone has any advice for me (i.e. please tell me of any settings I should change in order to make the converted product as close to the original as possible), that'd be amazing! Thank you so much for your help!!!

Output Settings:

Container: MKV

Picture:

Size: 1920 for width, and I am unable to edit Height, so 'none'

Anamorphic: Loose

Modulus: 2

Cropping: Custom
    Top: 0
    Bottom: 0
    Left: 0
    Right: 0

Filters:

Detelecine: Off (no idea what this is)

Decomb: Default (no idea what this is)

Deinterlace: Off (no idea what this is)

Denoise: Off (no idea what this is)

Deblock: Off (no idea what this is)

Video

Video Codec: MPEG-2 (FFmpeg)

Framerate: Same as source, Variable Framerate

Quality: 1

Audio

Source: 1 English (DTS-HD MA) (5.1 ch) (default, no idea what this means)

Codec: AAC (faac)

Bitrate: 384 (default was 160, but I assume higher bitrate is better?)

Samplerate: Auto (no idea what this means)

Mixdown: Dolby Pro Logic II (that was the default)

DRC: 0.0 (no idea what this means)

Gain: 0 (no idea what this means)

Source: 1 English (DTS-HD MA) (5.1 ch) (default, no idea what this means)