VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all,
    I'm new in ripping so probably there is already described this kind of issue but I have no idea how to find it.
    Anyway:
    I'm trying to rip some family's DVDs (weddings, etc.). DVDs have not so big resolution but on DVD plaer (hardware or software) the end effect is quite acceptable. Unfortuately after ripping (very high quality, same resolution as original) there are pixels on the screen. I've tried many of DVD rippers but the effect is always the same. Please see attached screens:
    Original DVD:
    [Attachment 43783 - Click to enlarge]

Ripped mp4 (same resolution):
    [Attachment 43784 - Click to enlarge]

Probably on the original DVD there is something like a blur filter (am I right?) and after ripping it's disapearing. Is there any method to keep the quality as the original DVD? Maybe upscaling or add some filters?
    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Term "ripping" is used to actually remove copyright protection, which you do not have.
    So term encoding DVD is fine.

Is your DVD truly interlaced? You might know that your camcorder was producing interlaced video, but did you produced interlaced DVD's as well? For years coming here on this forum, anything is possible.
    You might fast forward in the future or get rid of lots of presumtions just posting an example from your DVD. Use dgindex to post short m2v sample.

Just guessing, DVD was deinterlaced with not the best deinterlacer. Or you should encode interlaced the original was.
    Quote Quote  
  3. What is your target? - are you going to keep unchanged DVD format only to be distributed as single file or your intention to transcode video for some smaller filesize but not loose during transcoding too much video quality.
    Quote Quote