VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'm a beginner to video creating and editing, but I would like to make a short video which will include text, graphics, and some live-action video. I would like to include psychedelic graphics where 3D objects rotate, and have colour and graphic effects such as smoke, sparkles, etc (but not cartoony). I know how to take snippets of video and attach them together, but I don't know how to make things animated.

The end result would be a promo video type of thing. Is there a software that I can use that does this? Specifically, make 3D rotations of objects as they zoom into the screen (like when people show pictures of a globe spinning.

Thanks,

Cristina
    Quote Quote  
  2. Usually "3D" and "2D" are done with separate software

What kind of "3D" objects ? What formats (e.g. obj, fbx,etc...) ? Are you modelling from scratch or importing premade assets ?

The most powerful free software for this would be blender. It has a video sequence editor and full 3D capabilities. But it's the most difficult to learn, and the GUI isn't very intuitive for most people
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm not so familiar with what can be done in what software. Basically if you can imagine a dna strand rotating with a cool background that's what I'm aiming for, and those effects like text going into particles. Your basic promo video that looks flashy but is doable for a beginner willing to learn a bit as I go.

As far as whether it's from scratch or not, ideally I'd like to import some objects and modify them from there, but really whatever is simpler or easier.

Thanks for your help!
    Quote Quote  
  4. What sort of expectations do you have ? What is a "cool background" ? For example, A 3D DNA strand can be very plain looking with flat textures or it can be given the full Hollywood treatment , or anything in between.