VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, I'm a rookie working on converting old VHS home movies to digital so that I can edit and create DVD's.

I ripped the VHS tapes to mp4 using an old VCR and Elgato hardware & software. I'm editing in DaVinci Resolve 14 and discovered that my audio is out of sync - starts in sync then drifts off as the video progresses.

After some self-education on the web I believe this is called audio sync drift, and a lot of people suggest that I get a TBC and rip the VHS again. So an inexpensive TBC is about $275 bucks for my 25 tapes - ugh.

Any other solutions? I was thinking what if I took my tapes to a shop and had them rip the VHS to digital with their TBC and high-end equipment, I just want the raw files so I can edit in Resolve and create my DVD content. If they charged more than $10-11/tape I might as well just buy a TBC - right? Or am better off having a pro do the rips?

I have a program called DVD Flick to create the DVD's. I realize with my zero skills these are not going to be awesome color-corrected DVD's but I want preserve them, do some editing and create DVD's for the family.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by chazcon View Post
    Hello, I'm a rookie working on converting old VHS home movies to digital so that I can edit and create DVD's.

I ripped the VHS tapes to mp4
    First mistake.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Almost certainly a problem with Elgato and how it interacts with your computer. A TBC (frame synchronizer is a better description) is unlikely to help unless you are dropping a lot of frames, which I'm sure you'd notice. Try AmarecTV instead as your capture application.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hech54 View Post

First mistake.
    Really helpful dude, thanks a lot.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by JVRaines View Post