VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Seems like after awhile my BR writers no longer see BR disks but still work fine for DVDs. This is the second one to do this.

My fault? Or is it enevitable that when they fail they loose BR ability first.

I've been using a failed LiteOn BR writer for 2 years with DVDs without it showing any problems.

Tony
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I dont think it lost its capability. Check if something with your firmware isnt wrong. Maybe "windows driver" issue?
    Check this site http://www.liteonodd.com/en/service-support/download/search_result.html
    And search for Smart pack. But it is 5 years old, so don't know if it works. But you have, I think, nothing to loose. Or try search for firmware for your drive directly.
    But first try -> Right click on the drive, properties and tab hardware. What is mentioned here?

Bernix
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    AFAIK Combi drives have two lasers, one for dvds and one for blu-rays.

Thus it appears that your Blu-ray laser is either dead or, more likely, dirty. There are guides out there of what you can do to clean the laser.

Also since this has happened to you twice it would be an unlucky coincidence to have two dead drives. Of course all drives will die in time. Only you know how often you have used it. Also with dirty lasers consider your envoirement eg a smoky room.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Combi drives contain 3 lasers of different wavelengths: infrared for CD, red for DVD, and blue for BD.
    Otherwise, I would agree with DB83.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    D883 is correct

They contain only 2 lasers

1 x dvd / cd, controlled by 2 diodes
    1 x Bluray