VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi everyone. I'm a newbie and I hope you can help me. I'm trying to convert my own DVD Tv Series (First Episode) to XviD. I use mostly VirtualDub with MPEG2 Plugin to open Vob Files and Xvid Codec 1.3.4 to compress, but I have issues with Aspect Ratio, Scan Type and Video Quality. I'm trying many solutions without any good result.

The DVD is PAL 25fps, Region 2, Resolution 720x576 and DAR=2 (4:3).
    When I open Vob Files in VirtualDub, I check File Information and it says MPEG-2, 4:2:0 Interlaced.
    Also other programs like (DGIndex, Xmedia Recode, XviD4PSP) give Scan Type "Interlaced TFF".
    MeGui says Progressive.
    The odd thing is that when I convert the video in xvid (without any filters) the converted file has scan type Progressive with (Media Info, Xmedia Recode, XviD4PSP and even MeGui).
    Video Lenght is 46 min and just 3 seconds seem to have interlaced lines.
    I don't know if I have to use deinterlace filter or not.
    Another problem is Aspect Ratio. As you can see, original DAR is 4:3, but when I convert to xvid (without Filter) DAR becomes 5:4 Progressive. Any suggestion?

Some examples:

Virtualdub - Original
    [Attachment 43425 - Click to enlarge]

Xmedia Recode - Original
    [Attachment 43426 - Click to enlarge]

MeGui - Original
    [Attachment 43427 - Click to enlarge]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Xmedia Recode - Converted Example
    [Attachment 43428 - Click to enlarge]

Media Info - Converted Example
    [Attachment 43429 - Click to enlarge]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Interlaced Snapshoot - (only 3 seconds of video seem interlaced)
    [Attachment 43433 - Click to enlarge]