VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, complete newbie here.

Reading the forum posts here have convinced me to at least make an attempt to capture my 40-odd video8 XR tapes losslessly (huffyuv) instead of going the easy route and using the firewire (lossy DV) method.

Unfortunately, while making some initial test analog captures with my VC500 into virtualdub I'm getting a vertically squished image/frame compared to the firewire DV capture which looks perfectly proportional.

Notice that both captures have a "Display Resolution" of 720x480, but the correctly proportioned DV "Resolution" is a weird (nonstandard?) 736x480.

Both captures below are from the same Sony CCD-TRV730 Digital8 camera - First one using digital Firewire DV output and the second one using analog S-video > VC500:

I can't seem to find a way to force captures of 736x480 in virtualdub, but I'm not sure I should even try since it seems like such an odd resolution.

Any ideas why this is happening or what might remedy it?

Grasping at straws, I suspected that it might have something to do with the tapes being recorded in video8 "XR", so have since bought another video8 "XR" camera with S-video (the original camera had only composite) but it also results in a squished image/short frame.

There doesn't seem to be very much written about video8 XR tapes since the format was only around for a few years.

Maybe I should just drop back and punt and capture them all via lossy DV?

I hate to do that knowing that I would be losing so much color information because of the way the DV codec works with NTSC, especially since there is a slight added advantage of analog capturing XR tapes with an actual XR camera.

I'm kind of overwhelmed yet still hopeful that I can put together a decent analog capture system and workflow.

Thanks!

------------
    Cameras:

Original Video8 XR Camera:
    Sony CCD-TRV16 Video8 XR (composite only outputs though)

Digital8 Camera (ebay):