VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker or buy PlayOn and record Netflix! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2
FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 52 of 52
Thread
  1. Originally Posted by procedure View Post
    i did a little more digging. i was testing my dpx sequence with a tiny 4 frame sequence. i realized that vdmf was only showing 2 frames in the previewed sequence. so i created a new sequence that was 24 frames long. now vdmf is only showing a sequence of 14 frames. the first 9 or 10 frames are correct, and frames 11-14 are frames toward the end of the original 24 frame sequence.

    so i tried a 24 frame jpg sequence and also a 24 frame tif sequence. the jpg and tif sequences are previewing correctly in vdmf. also, they work fine with my "film restoring" script applied in avisynth and are working fine frameserved a second time by avfs.

    et voila, the problem seems to stem with using dpx in vdmf. i think i can live with converting my dpx files to tif if it comes to that. unless you have another suggestion maybe i should try vapourSynth again. as stated though, i so far unable to get imageMajick installed properly so no dpx files there either!
    I'm wondering if something peculiar about your dpx sequence ? There many different dpx variations, are they from the same batch and type? Same characteristics, dimensions too ? Also are named and numbered correctly ?

    Can you upload a sample , and zip(archive) it up ? For example the 4 frame sequence . If it's a bug with vdfm / vdub, then perhaps something can be done about it. because it seems to work ok here


    i tried to autoload imageMajick (using this directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\VapourSynth\plugins64\libimwri.dll)
    with this code:
    Code:
    import vapoursynth as vs
    core = vs.get_core()
    video = core.imwri.Read('D:/test.%06d.dpx')
    video.set_output()
    i get this error line 3
    Failed to evaluate the script: Python exception: No attribute with the name imwri exists. Did you mistype a plugin namespace?
    imwrif not imwri

    also specify firstnum=whatever for the first number in the sequence
    Quote Quote  
  2. I don't think anyone has "translated" videofred's script into a native vapoursynth equivalent, but it should be possible, all the building blocks are there.

    But you can actually load vapoursynth scripts into avisynth with vapoursource using vsimport() . So if the only way you can get a dpx sequence (easily) loaded is with vapoursynth, you can still apply the existing videofred script in avisynth

    If it's just a short sequence, the ffms2 and single splices isn't that bad in avisynth
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    imwrif not imwri
    what the!???
    the documentation shows imwri:
    http://www.vapoursynth.com/doc/plugins/imwri.html
    and imwri is all over the main doom post:
    https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=170981

    my god, how did you know it was changed? (don't answer that )

    so i have gotten rid of the previous error, and now it appears to be simply a matter of how to bring in a proper image sequence.
    i'm using this now:
    Code:
    video = core.imwrif.Read(filename="D:/Data/Downloads/VapourSynth/test/footage/test.%06d.dpx", firstnum=1)
    and getting this error:
    Python exception: Read: No files matching the given pattern exist
    my dpx files look like this:
    test.01.dpx
    test.02.dpx
    test.03.dpx
    test.04.dpx
    i uploaded a 44mb zip of these files. my dpx sequence is coming from a single transfer source. i can't imagine or see that there is a difference between each frame.
    thank you!
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  4. It should be "%02d" , because you have 2 placeholder digits (not "%06d", which would mean 6 digits)

    Yes, the documentation needs updating
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    i'm sorry i should have researched that one. its just that there have been so many problems that that one got buried.

    i will try to get into vapourSynth and frame serving it to adobe premiere as well as studying the possibilities of finding a similar script for film restoration. (in other words, i'll be back!)
    i need deflicker, stabilization, degraining, sharpening, and most importantly (and i can live without all of them but this one) temporal dirt cleaning.

    thank you so much. you are amazing.
    (and thanks to everyone helping tirelessly on this thread!)
    Quote Quote  
  6. I can reproduce the vdfm sequence issue . shekh is the author of that fork, and he's posted earlier in this thread, so I think he should be investigating the issue . The dpx themselves look ok, and import fine in other programs that support dpx - nothing looks out of the ordinary. So it probably is an issue specific to vdfm



    If you just want something done now, I would go the VSImport() route in avisynth and use your existing workflow/script (basically just using the vpy to "read" the sequence.). There are a lot of "gotchas" in vapoursynth (I guess quite a few in avisynth too, but you've been using that so are at least familiar with a workflow that works for you) . But you can revisit vapoursynth when you have more time

    But one "gotcha" you're going to have right off the bat is IM plugin imports as float in vapoursynth, so you would probably need to convert to a compatible colorspace/depth before sending it somewhere . Avisynth+ supports some additional depths and colorspaces, but not float
    Last edited by poisondeathray; 9th Oct 2017 at 01:09.
    Quote Quote  
  7. .....
    Last edited by sneaker; 9th Oct 2017 at 06:25. Reason: nvm
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    I can reproduce the vdfm sequence issue . shekh is the author of that fork, and he's posted earlier in this thread, so I think he should be investigating the issue . The dpx themselves look ok, and import fine in other programs that support dpx - nothing looks out of the ordinary. So it probably is an issue specific to vdfm
    This is caused by some weirdness in ffmpeg.
    I can see it with ffprobe.exe -i "test.%%02d.dpx" -start_number 1 -show_streams
    ...
    r_frame_rate=15/1
    time_base=1/25

    These numbers don't make sense for me. Maybe will make a workaround in few days.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    I can reproduce the vdfm sequence issue .
    I saw the same thing here -- only the first two of the four images loaded. Oddly, changing the filenames to start with zero instead of one loaded six frames (0,1,1,2,2,3). Appending two extra images (1,2,3,4,5,6) got the entire four frame sequence (1,2,3,4).
    Quote Quote  
  10. dpx sequence problem fixed in build 40412 https://sourceforge.net/projects/vdfiltermod/files/VirtualDub%20pack/version%2017/
    Caused by framerate stored in pictures (15 in the example)
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    thanks, guys. you are amazing. i had to go back to work monday and today. hopefully i'll get some time to test this tomorrow. thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  12. I can confirm the new version of VirtualDub FilterMod autoloads all four DPX files, 1 through 4.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    Finally able to get off work to test this.

    i can confirm that large dpx sequences (hundreds of frames) are importing normally into vdfm now. thank you so much shekh.

    frameserving a 58 frame dpx sequence from vdfm 32bit to avisynth is causing a crash in vdfm
    An out-of-bounds memory access (access violation) occurred in module 'VirtualDub'... ...reading address 00000000
    however, vdfm 64bit is not crashing with any of my sequences.


    i can import this vdr into a simple avs scipt and use avfs to frameserve this a 2nd time to vlc or adobe premiere.

    unfortunately, if i use my restore film script from videoFred, vlc still works, but adobe premiere throws this error:

    import failure. unsupported format or damaged file
    when i get some time, i'll try and see if a specific plugin in the restore film script is causing the problem. but i'm guessing its actually just too many filters, perhaps.


    i've been testing your idea to use VSimport of a vapourSynth script using the vapourSource plugin in avisynth. however, i can't get the darn plugin to load.
    i've got vapourSource 0.1.0 in my plugin folder but
    LoadPlugin("plugins/VapourSource.dll")
    is throwing the usual error:
    unable to load. module not found. Install missing library?
    i'm not sure i need this now that vdfm is working anyway, but...
    thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by procedure View Post
    Finally able to get off work to test this.

    i can confirm that large dpx sequences (hundreds of frames) are importing normally into vdfm now. thank you so much shekh.

    frameserving a 58 frame dpx sequence from vdfm 32bit to avisynth is causing a crash in vdfm
    An out-of-bounds memory access (access violation) occurred in module 'VirtualDub'... ...reading address 00000000
    however, vdfm 64bit is not crashing with any of my sequences.
    Can you check with taskmanager the memory usage? Just curious

    i can import this vdr into a simple avs scipt and use avfs to frameserve this a 2nd time to vlc or adobe premiere.

    unfortunately, if i use my restore film script from videoFred, vlc still works, but adobe premiere throws this error:

    import failure. unsupported format or damaged file
    when i get some time, i'll try and see if a specific plugin in the restore film script is causing the problem. but i'm guessing its actually just too many filters, perhaps.
    You might need to convert to RGB24 or 32 at the end of the script. There are a few versions floating around but IIRC, most of that script is running in YV12 or YUY2


    i've been testing your idea to use VSimport of a vapourSynth script using the vapourSource plugin in avisynth. however, i can't get the darn plugin to load.
    i've got vapourSource 0.1.0 in my plugin folder but
    LoadPlugin("plugins/VapourSource.dll")
    is throwing the usual error:
    unable to load. module not found. Install missing library?
    i'm not sure i need this now that vdfm is working anyway, but...
    thank you!

    Not sure about x86 but it works with x64 and avisynth+ MT x64

    Also, not sure if fred posted the updated version yet, but IIRC I think he mentioned updating his script for avisynth+ MT x64 . It's significantly faster and more stable than the old avisynth MT
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    as for the vdfm 32bit frame serving crash when opening the vdr in avisynth, the task manager did not show a peak in memory or cpu over 25 or 30%.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    I think we have full resolution here to everything! You are a madman, Mr. Deathray! I added a converttoRBG24 at the end of the script and it opened and ran in adobe premiere fine.
    Here are the full details of the workflow:

    In order to open and filter (remove dirt and scratches, etc) a DPX (or tiff, etc) sequence in AviSynth and then frame serve that to Adobe Premiere:

    ----

    1. Open the .dpx sequence in VDFM
    2. Use VDFM's built-in frame server to serve the file as a .vdr file (or .avi). (I could only get this to work in VDFM 64bit see this link to get the frame server working:
    https://github.com/stax76/staxrip/issues/159#issuecomment-299569068)
    3. Create an AviSynth .avs script that opens that .vdr file (To import the file later into Adobe Premiere make sure the final file is converted to RGB24 or 32 in the script)
    4. Use AVFS to frame serve the .avs script into a virtual .avi file (I used the simple command line: "avfs test.avs" to build the virtual .avi file)
    5. Open the .avi file in Adobe Premiere

    A filtered virtual avi file will barely function in the premiere timeline. So I plan to edit the film using the original dpx sequence. Then after the edit is complete, I hope to replace all the footage with AviSynth filtered (restored and cleaned) virtual avi files. Then I'll hit render and hope it doesn't take 3 weeks!

    Seems so easy now, but i had a tragic head-scratcher at every step.

    Thanks so much to everyone that has helped with this project. You are incredible!

    (I'm realizing this whole plan is probably a crazy dream anyway. I have about 50+ dpx source sequences to edit in premiere. So to replace then all with virtual avi files, I'll have to open 50+ instances of VDFM and start frame servers. Then do the same with AVFS, if that is even possible!)
    Last edited by procedure; 12th Oct 2017 at 18:34.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by procedure View Post
    as for the vdfm 32bit frame serving crash when opening the vdr in avisynth, the task manager did not show a peak in memory or cpu over 25 or 30%.
    What is the system memory amount on that machine ? (25% of what ?)

    A 32bit process can usually only access 2GB of memory . Maybe shekh can make some tweaks to the caching or memory handling
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    hi. obviously this is not going to be too scientific.
    i have an i-7-6700k cpu with 16gb of ram running windows 10.
    i tried it again and shut down every other program on my computer and noticed that before launching VDFM 32bit:
    cpu 2-5%
    Mem 27%
    when i hit play on the avs with a simple vdr import in AvsPmod, around the moment of the crash it was around:
    cpu 25%
    mem 35%
    Quote Quote  
  19. Is that memory figure for total or the vdfm process individually ? Check the breakdown in the details tab
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    ahhr. i should have checked it that way. ok.
    before & during the crash, VDMF
    CPU 0%
    MEM 82mb

    before crash, AvsPmod
    CPU 0%
    MEM 1700mb
    during crash, AvsPmod
    CPU 7%
    MEM 1900mb
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Search PM
    hi shekh. this seems to be the same release as the previous release build 40412. however, the crash appears to be gone now. not seeing a crash anymore. thanks very much!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads