VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have more than 4TB of VOB's that I have ripped from DVD's I have purchased over the last 20 years, most are TV series, many are classics. I ran into a problem today and now I am doubting how I need to do things.

It is my desire to encode everything I have and once I have a good clean, stable copy of each show . . . I want to delete the VOB's.

I have every imaginable software to accomplish this task, but these encoded files have to be near perfect for me to feel ok with deleting the master copies, the VOB's

So my question is:

where is the best place for the best tutorial for encoding clear files that are smaller in size?

or what does everyone here use as software and for settings?

My DVD's are getting unplayable and pitted and I need to convert them to digital before it's too late.

The one thing I need is a good GUI as I am not good with command line unless it is simple.

Today I was encoding my Golden Girls series and I ran into an interlace problem, basically, very visible lines through the playback of the finished product. I did a simple deinterlace and that was pretty horrible too.

So I have been reading all day and I am over saturated and over it at the moment.

I have always liked mp4 container w/ x264, with AAC 128 sound, basically really simple file, but I am open for MKV also. My goal is no larger than 325mb for a 24 minute 720x480 show . . . seems like that would be simple to achieve a quality file,

I see files half that size that look amazing, I just don't know what program works best and what settings to use.

I have a huge archive, I don't mind sharing, but I must first quality encode them for archiving.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Mod: I had no idea where to post this, if this is wrong place, please accept my apology.