VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm new to capturing and video editing. A program called "Hybrid" was the easiest to load up AviSynth x264 sources, for conversion to x265 video.

Everything works fine...except during the conversion process, "Hybrid" always uses 100% of my CPU. Conversions typically take an hour or more per video. And I have to convert throughout the day. I don't like the idea of my laptop or PC running at 100% CPU most of the day.

So I would like some way to limit the CPU usage of this program. Unfortunately, "Hybrid" seems to have hundreds of options. But I can't find one related to my problem. Can anyone help me with this?
    Last edited by jaibubwan; 1st Sep 2017 at 12:00.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I assume you have a multi-core CPU. You should be able to limit the number of threads used by x264/x265 in Hybrid to a number lower that your CPU core count.

That said I find your idea .. bad. Let your hardware work at 100% - that's its job. I once ran a batch of encodes for like a week (at 100%). And of course if you reduce threads your encoding time increases ...
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by sneaker View Post
    I assume you have a multi-core CPU. You should be able to limit the number of threads used by x264/x265 in Hybrid to a number lower that your CPU core count.
    Maybe I found an option in "Hybrid" related to your suggestion.
    Navigated to 'Hybrid > Config > Internals'.
    There's an option called "FFMPEG/MEncoder threads".
    It says "detected CPU core count" is "8" on my system.
    There's a box where you can change that value.

Guessing if I lower that, it would accomplish what I want.
    Will have to try it out later and see. Will report back on result.

Originally Posted by sneaker View Post
    That said I find your idea .. bad. Let your hardware work at 100% - that's its job. I once ran a batch of encodes for like a week (at 100%). And of course if you reduce threads your encoding time increases ...