VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi folks,

I'm a musician looking to record some quality (relatively speaking) music videos. I'm completely new to video.

I bought a Zoom Q8, a camera and audio-processor in one, because convenience. I shot a video with a friend, but I can't help but think the video quality is horrible. It looks nothing like the 1080p videos I see on YouTube, even though this camera was clearly advertised as such. What do you guys think? Is it a matter of bad lighting and the wrong settings, or is there something else I've misunderstood? I don't think it's a matter of focus - both the mic in the front and us in the back seem blurry. And I heard 4K doesn't survive the upload to YT, so that shouldn't account for the difference in quality either.

Should I return the camera and spend the €400,- (or a bit more) on one dedicated to video quality (recording the audio separately is a good idea quality-wise anyway)? Or is it not going to get any better in this price range (say, under €750,-) whichever camera I choose?

I'm hoping to get some expert opinions. I have about a week to decide whether to keep it or send it back
    Thanks in advance!
    -Philip

https://youtu.be/qnLO0juZgkE

Ps. Only after uploading this as a private vid to YT did I found out there -was- in fact sound behind it - excuse the banter, false starts and midway dropouts, I just took a random take.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I haven't been able to view the 1080p version of the video yet but the 720p version appears to have 720p resolution. But what's the deal with that orange cast over the right side of the image? Was the sun or a light shining into the camera lens? If the camera always shoots like that there's something wrong with it.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You can quickly check the original video by loading it into mediainfo (text mode)