VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Here is a short sample of my Dad's 8mm films we had transferred in 2005, they were delivered as DVDs, I have some basic knowledge of Avisynth and seek advice on how best to clean the spots and scratches.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. [edit] Oh good grief, I uploaded the wrong file (below). See my later post for the correct file.

Here are links to three very long, but very complete discussions which provide details of how to do what you want:

The power of Avisynth: restoring old 8mm films

Capturing and restoring old 8mm films

The power of Avisynth: new 8mm film restoring examples

Before you can do any of the things shown in these threads, you need to get your video into a frame accurate format. Your sample has blended fields that were added to make the 16 fps film play at the right speed when shown on PAL 25 fps TV. Those fields need to first be removed, or you need to get the transfer done so that the video is 16 (or 18) fps progressive. SRestore is the AVISynth function that may be able to get you where you want to go. Any attempt to do restoration on the sample you uploaded, without first doing this step, will fail because adjacent video frames do not represent the adjacent frames of the original film.

I used this code (which refers to the SRestore script) to remove the blended fields:

Code:
    loadPlugin("c:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\TIVTC.dll")
    loadplugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\MVTools\mvtools2.dll")
    loadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\Srestore\mt_masktools-25.dll")
    Import("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\Srestore\srestore.avs")

source=AVISource("E:\fs.avi").KillAudio().converttoYV12(interlaced=true).AssumeTFF()

bob(source,-0.2,0.6)
    output=srestore(frate=18, omode=6).filldrops()

return output

function filldrops (clip c)
    {
      super=MSuper(c,pel=2)