VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'm completely new to video and video capture and just wanted to see if you can give me any help on why the video quality of my videos is so poor?

I'm screen capturing videos of how to use our recruitment system like in this video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EAI5m1XoiA

I use a piece of software called Movavi Screen Capture. I then edit the video in Movavi Editor. I save the video as an Online Video in Output Format and the Preset as Video for YouTube (1080p).
    Clearly it doesn't look great and my boss isn't too pleased but I can't get it to look any better. Do you know what I'm doing wrong and if there's anything I can do to fix it? Is it the quality of the software or am I making a mistake in what I'm doing somewhere?

Thanks for the help!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    So many unknowns.

I suggest, with your boss's consent, you upload a short sample of the original, un-edited screen capture. And also the same footage with a slight edit as you have done with the program in the same format as you upload or wish to make available elsewhere.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I've uploaded 2 test videos doing exactly what I'd usually do.

Here's the original capture (saved as PM4) - https://files.videohelp.com/u/271400/Original%20Screencapture.mp4
    And the edited (saved as HD video for Youtuvbe 1080p) - https://files.videohelp.com/u/271400/Edited%20Video.mp4
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    If these videos are typical then there are several issues.

1. The original capture has an odd display ratio of 1280*1024. Is that the dimensions of the display you are capturing ?
    2. The original video has a variable frame rate of +/- 30 fps. That could be an issue with he capture program but check its settings to capture at fixed frame rate.