VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. I have a Canon Vixia HV 30 which I was previously able to connect to my PC when I had Windows 7. Now that I have upgraded to 10, the Windows Movie Maker is gone, so I tried installing some of the apps which said they made DVDs, but none of then have the ability to capture from firewire. I did some searching and tried WinDV and DVCapture, but neither of them worked. The camera shows up in the device manager under the 'sound, video and game controllers' and it says that the driver is the latest and greatest.

    Any suggestions? Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    "Firewire" is a data transfer.....not real-time capturing.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Are you trying to capture DV or HDV from that camera?

    WinDV should work fine for DV capture. Try HDVsplit for HDV.

    Make sure the camera is properly set manually to either DV or HDV before plugging it in to the computer.
    Quote Quote  
  4. HDVsplit worked like a champ! Thanks!!
    Quote Quote  
  5. You're welcome. Glad you got it going.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Syndey
    Search Comp PM
    This work really well and install into Windows 10... A life saver for me

    https://alternativeto.net/software/stoik-capturer/
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Louisiana
    Search Comp PM
    I use Adobe Premiere Elements 10 video editing software. I can capture video thru by DV camera using a firewire and editing clips quickly. My students have only about 40 minutes to record the school news, edit, use chroma key, & burn DVD to show to the entire school each day. My problem is that the new Adobe Premiere Elements doesn't have the screen capture thru firewire on the new versions. Is there anyone can tell me a comparable software to use that works like Adobe Premiere Elements 10. I'm also upgrade to a Windows 10 desktop.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Search PM
    WinDV is the ancient but usual recommendation.
    Quote Quote  
  9. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    vegas pro 16 definitely has tape capture and print back to tape. vegas movie studio lists print to tape so i'd assume it has tape capture also. both the pro and studio versions offer a free trial so you can check if you wish.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  10. Big breakthrough today! I've already copied 18 tapes with hdvsplit, no problems at all, and then started having a few tapes "just not work".

    I have learned that with my Canon HV20, I also have both HDV tapes and "16 bit" DV tapes. What this means is that I recorded some of these tapes on an older camcorder. The tapes are the same.

    So, when I'm recording on Win 10, I can use HDVSplit to grab the "HDV" videos, and I have to use WinDV to record the "DV" videos.

    With WinDV, you have to run the software first, then turn on your camera. Also, to record, you hit record in the app, then hit play with your camera.

    I'm on a brand new win10 preview build (20175), so this likely will work for you:

    OS: win10 preview build (20175) (any should work)
    Driver: https://www.startech.com/faq/firewire-cards-windows-legacy-driver-swap Also, this is a great set of instructions for this https://www.studio1productions.com/Articles/Firewire-1.htm
    Card: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0753H8GTY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Camera: https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/camcorders/support-h...ng-_-VIXIAHV20

    HDVSplit: https://www.videohelp.com/software/HDVSplit
    WinDV: https://www.videohelp.com/software/WinDV
    Quote Quote  
  11. Hi rowdster,
    registered today, only to THANK YOU!!!
    It worked! installed the legacy driver for the firewire card, connected my Canon Camcorder, and finally in can capture from my old MiniDV cassettes.

    Greetings from Berlin, Joern

    PS: In case someone needs a workaround:
    After recording one tape without problems, WinDV suddenly imported somewhat "scrambled" Videos. After installing AVCutty and importing a few scenes, WinDV was working well again. Don't know why
    Quote Quote  
  12. Hi, CanonDV! That's really great news! One thing I found you have to be aware of is that if you are recording the analog video, then every time the video starts, or resumes from a gap in the tape, you will get a video clip with no audio. This does not appear to be a problem with digital recordings.

    To deal with the 'no audio issue', if you instead, hit play on the tape, making sure that the video has kicked in just a split second, then you can hit record with the software, and it will record just fine.

    This means you are doing pretty manual work to get through your tapes, but I found it wasn't that terrible, and you get to take a bit of a preview as you are working through the videos.

    Here was my workflow for the older analog tapes:

    1. Launch the recording software, but don't hit record, and use the preview window.
    2. hit play on the tape from the beginning and make sure the video kicks in and immediately then hit record in the software
    3. let the whole tape record through
    4. use VLC to jump through all the recorded clips, looking for any that start with no audio. If there's no audio in the first couple seconds, you need to re-record that clip manually. This is one of those places where you have a gap in the video recording on your tape where there's no 'data'.
    5. rewind the tape to the gap and repeat steps 1-2 above, and just watch and re-record that clip.

    6. Then I used Windows Explorer to grab the old clip file name, delete the original file, then re-name the new clip to have the prior file name.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads