VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm trying to reencode a cartoon from a dvd, but the ugly lines are driving me crazy. I'm not good at Avisynth scripts, but I use Handbrake and Hybrid. Hybrid detects the video as interlaced: bottom field first, but it doesn't look interlaced to me. I've tried several deinterlacers, detelecine, and antialiasing filters, but nothing seems to fix ugly lines. Any ideas?

I've uploaded a 10 second clip from the DVD to MakeMKV where you can clearly see the flickering/aliased lines.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. QTGMC(InputType=2) is designed for this. It won't be perfect but it will be much better. Adding Santiag() (antialiaser) after that will clean it up a bit more.

Code:
    Mpeg2Source("clip1.d2v")
    TDecimate()
    QTGMC(InputType=2)
    Santiag()
    And if you're a real glutton for punishment add QTGMC(InputType=1) to the end of that script:
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by jagabo; 26th Jul 2017 at 18:54.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Wow, that looks good. I can't seem to get it to work in Hybrid. And I get an error when I try to load the script in VirtualDub. I'm still just starting out learning how to use scripts. Do I need certain plugins? I tried googling TDecimate plugin, but just found a dead link. And I'm not familiar with d2v. Is that a necessary format? I tried FFmpegSource2("clip.mkv") instead.
    Quote Quote  
  4. If you're going to try and clean up anime you have to learn some AviSynth. There is no other way.

TDecimate is part of the TIVTC set of filters. QTGMC needs a bunch of stuff. hello_hello, who spends time here, has a package with all needed filters. A D2V is a DGIndex project file. It comes with the DGMPGDec package. Get it and read the 3 very importantant included docs as they will go a very long way towards getting you started working on DVDs in AviSYnth.