VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    My old 32 bit PC is dying and want to go 64 bits and stay with windows 7

I know 7th generation CPUs are only supported under W10 (no security updates)

So 6th generation CPUs may go for bargain prices (and motherboards)

i'm a hobbyist at editing ...and trying lots of stuff ...
    and now most trialware and serious open source editing software are 64 bits.

So Blackmagic Design's Davinci Resolve seams really a must to try
    and it's expected system specs are over the top ...but are they?

Now, What would you recommand fot PC built ?

NVidia GTX 1050ti? i'm kinda lost .. and really want to keep it under 2000$
    ideally 1800$ i want spare change for a USB capture device.

Thanks to all

i still live in canada so maybe americans should read 1650$(us) instead of 2000$(can)
    Last edited by smartel; 11th Jul 2017 at 04:54.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I don't know about bargain prices on slightly older Intel chips as they don't really have a good response to Ryzen and Intel is still on Skylake, with Kaby Lake being an optimization and Coffee Lake coming out being yet another optimization. So if you don't want to go Ryzen then you still have to go with Skylake (or even Haswell). You could get pretty cheap FX AMD chips, like the FX-6300 and higher but I would not really recommend them for performance and efficiency reasons when you could spend a bit more and get a R5 1600 or even more for a R7 1700x.