VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I have been running Movie Label for several years and it's got too many bugs, and I've outgrown it.
    So now I'm looking to replace it, preferably with a current Open Source free software package. An All-in-one solution if one exists.

I have 2,300 movies and TV shows, and around 5,000 music files to be catalogued. Currently only the movies and TV shows are catalogued.
    There are several sources

Optical - DVD and Blu-ray purchased discs (About 1500)
    Optical - DVD and Blu-ray that I've simply burnt MKV and MP4 files to, such as movies I've recorded with my camcorder (~150)
    Online HDD (~750) - Stuff that I've ripped from original disks or downloaded.

The stuff on my HDD is easy. Pretty much everything will handle that - the challenge is to get the catalogued Optical content into a new program, without having to feed the program one disk at a time.

To put everything online at original quality I'd need over 300 TB. I only have 40 TB.

I want to have this run on my server, and client PCs connect to it and play the content from there. I know I can simply run something like Potplayer/VLC and browse the network. I'm looking for a more modern way of doing it, with movie details, cover art etc. Hence the preference for a software solution.

Ultimately, I'd like to extend the software with Add-ons for viewing TV. I currently do not have a capture card, but something that works over Internet would be preferable.

I've taken a brief look at Kodi and MediaPortal. While some of the features I want are covered, getting the Optical media into the library seems to be the main problem.

Off the top of your head, do you have any thoughts on what software can meet these needs?

thanks
    Tanya
    10940x with Creator X299 Motherboard, 32GB DRR4-3733, RTX 3080 Ti GPU
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Sounds like you are wanting two different tools. An inventory app and a browse/play app.