VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi guys,

I found a good solution for changing the vertical gap between lines in ASS subtitles using tags. Thought some people might find it useful, so I decided to share the info (I even wrote an article about it, if you're curious).

So what you do is you move the rotation origin point really far away to the left and slightly rotate the first line. Because the rotation radius is so big, the angle you need to rotate is really small, enough that the first line is non-angled visually if the displacement is within a subpixel on the screen. The subtitle text goes like this:

{\org(-2000000,0)\fr0.001}This is the first line,{\r}\Nand this is the second one.

Works well for me. What do you think?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Works great! But how do I apply these tags to every two line subtitle in a list of more than 300 titles?
    I am new to ASS.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the quick response. I tried that before but it did not work. What do I have to fill into the template line: just the tag or a subtitle with both tags and text in between. How are one line and two line subtitles distinguished?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Just the tags. The one line/two line subs are not distinguished, yeah; if you want an automatic solution here, you'll need to write an Automation lua script. I'm quite busy right now, if you don't know how to write the script, I'll come up with a quick example later on.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Here, download this file: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1rOQxFq8sgQHGSJh05YDxlLQIfhNywn0Z

Copy it in Aegisub's automation folder (automation > autoload), launch Aegisub, select all the subtitles by pressing Ctrl+A on the grid, and finally go to Automation > Line Spacing 0.001

This should work only for two-liners. If you need a different spacing, just modify the script in any text editor.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Sounds good. Thanks for your effort. I'll try and report.
    Quote Quote