VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hey everyone, Im new to the BluRay Authoring world.

Last night I tried to burn a BluRay disk

- First ever attempt

I may need to buy a dedicated BluRay Player, but at the moment I have the Pioneer drive and the video wont play on there. I tried it in my Xbox One and no luck there. It seems like theres SO many different types of settings and maybe the burner drive and Xbox cant read it...?

Do I need to do any pre-burning formatting?

Heres what I used and the settings:

Pioneer BluRay Burner BDR-XD05S
    Verbartim BD-R 25GB 6X Speed

Burner Software: Wondershare DVD Creator
    Software Settings: (Selection bolded) Fit to disk - Standard - High Quality
    Encoder: H.264
    Resolution:1080p
    Frame Rate: 23.976

File Type: .MKV
    Frame Width: 1920
    Frame Height: 800
    Total Bitrate: 10199kbs
    Frame Rate: 23 FPS
    Video Tracks:
    H264 (High @L4.1)
    Last edited by RELiG; 20th Jun 2017 at 14:02.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    All authored media formats (AudioCD, VideoCd, DVD-Video, DVD-Audio, SACD, HD-DVD, Blu-ray, Blu-ray3D...) should be burned as Disc-at-Once (or Session-at-Once for EnhancedCds), never with "formatting". Formatting as you are describing sets up the discs for multi-session packet writing, allowing you to use the disc as a sort of re-burnable backup hard drive.

You need to get a better, compliant Blu-ray authoring software (e.g. DVDArchitect, BluStudio, or maybe multiAVCHD if on a shoestring budget), and then use a good burner software like ImgBurn.
    Look above at "What is Blu-ray?" for examples of what your discs' contents should look like.
    Certainly not MKV. Mkv, great container that is, is not used in any authored format, and authored formats are the kind of standardized playback that guarantee (near-universal) consumer compatibility with discs.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post