VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am very new to the world of video compression/editing. So please mind the question and bare with me.
    I have an action cam I take with my SCUBA diving. It records video with (from what I can tell) the H264 codex. From my understanding some codecs are better for some types of videos then others, and have better compression then others. I have tried a few times to compress the videos I am getting (3.3GB for 15 min 1080p or 720p. Dunno why, but thats in another thread) a few times, and have been very dissatisfied with the results. I want to compress the video as much as possible, with as little loss in quality as possible (if thats possible.) Does anyone have any suggestions on programs/settings to use, or am I just asking too much?
    I have tried handbrake BTW, and for some reason it just stops part way through and won't continue, so unless I am doing something wrong with handbrake, handbrake is out.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Could you post here in this thread 5 to 10 seconds clip of your source? You will probably get better answers then.

Are you trying to create a lower resolution copy, or just re-encoding it primarily to save space?

What was so dissatisfying about your attempt ?

There are regulars in the forum who may be able to make some relevant suggestions
    Quote Quote  
  3. I have uploaded a sample. Please not this has been run through "Any Video Converter" in order to get a small section of the video, and thus the quality is lower then the original. As I said, I am very new and have no idea how to cut a part of the video and keep the same quality. This will however give you an example of both above/below water.