VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am kinda new to the world of video, at least anything beyond basic recording/storing, so please mind me.
    I have an action cam. Its called an Elecam, I am not sure what version/model off the top of my head, but I am not sure it matters. I recently switched my video recording from 1080p/60fps to 720p/60fps to try and save some space, but noticed that the videos are the same size! Its set to cut each video at 15 min, and there all about 3.3gb. Both the 1080 and 720 I checked the bitrate, and they are both about the same at 31500 or so. Any ideas whats going on? Shouldn't the 720p videos be smaller?
    -edit-
    It is an elecam explorer
    Last edited by ShadowWizard; 18th Jun 2017 at 19:31.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Check the specs of your camera. Perhaps it's using a constant bitrate
    Quote Quote  
  3. Would it be constant if I am getting a different bitrate with each video? For example one is 31569 and another is 31422?
    And are you suggesting that the camera has a setting to change the bitrate (can't find it) or that the bitrate is constant and doesn't change.. If that second question is even still applicable after the first bit of information.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm not suggesting anything, that's why I suggested looking up the specs of the camera and
    see what you can find out.
    If you find a low demand scene produces a file with a much lower bitrate,
    then the constant rate is obviously wrong, more likely using some kind of constant rate factor or similar.

There are others on the forum who can give more details that I. You should at least provide
    the exact camera model
    Quote Quote  
  5. So, I edited my post after I found the model number, plus did some more testing. I recorded nothing but black for 10 seconds. The file is 2.3 megs, and says it has a bit rate of 987kbps.