VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have a kinescope that has water damage in some areas. Is there any method, manual or automatic, that might be able to help me repair some of this?

Sample: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j6cku92z53glpr2/00001-edit-na.m2ts?dl=0
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    Those are rather extensive defects. I would be inclined to work on them manually in a graphic editor, one frame at a time. In a static shot, you can often put a good frame behind a bad one and mask out the blotches. When you have motion, you will probably need to find two good "bookend" frames and then tween the rest with an interpolation filter. Recent versions of Photoshop have this capability as part of Timeline Animation.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I do media restoration for a living. Movie film is a major part of what I do.

The huge defects on the left side persist for multiple frames so you cannot do motion estimation to synthesize new frames. However, in the short clip, there is very little movement and very little detail in the damaged sections, so you may be able to use a common trick of putting two copies of the video into your NLE (I use Vegas Pro). My NLE lets me draw a mask over the defect, letting the video from the second instance of the same video "show through" that mask. You then offset (in time) the second copy of the video so that good video shows through, but from a few frames before or after the damaged frame. Sometimes you have to move around (left/right/up/down/rotate) this second instance of video, which you are using as a patch, so that it lines up, as best you can, with the video in the damaged frame. Sometimes you have to do this frame-by-frame, and other times you can get a whole block of frames fixed with one mask and one offset copy.