I need to modify my BD authoring workflow somewhat because my intermediates are linear EXR. Therefore, I am trying to build an ffmpeg script that can encode a bluray compatible video without triggering the DVDA recompress setting. So far, no luck. In the past, the following worked fine:
where I processed a lossless 4:2:2 1080p29.97 video to 4:2:0 1280x720p59.94 using Avisynth. So, now I am trying to do all that using ffmpeg. This is what I have so far:Code:x264 --bitrate 27500 --preset veryslow --tune film --bluray-compat --vbv-maxrate 28000 --vbv-bufsize 27500 --level 4.1 --keyint 60 --open-gop --slices 4 --colorprim "bt709" --transfer "bt709" --colormatrix "bt709" --sar 1:1 --pass 1 -o out.264 in.avs x264 --bitrate 27500 --preset veryslow --tune film --bluray-compat --vbv-maxrate 28000 --vbv-bufsize 27500 --level 4.1 --keyint 60 --open-gop --slices 4 --colorprim "bt709" --transfer "bt709" --colormatrix "bt709" --sar 1:1 --pass 2 -o out.264 in.avs
As you can see there is a bunch of stuff in there related to the linear to Rec.709 conversion as well as 1080p to 720p and framerate, then I throw in all the x264 bluray compatible settings. It seems to work fine, DVDA reads the file but then wants to recompress.Code:ffmpeg -y -t 10 -framerate 30000/1001 -apply_trc iec61966_2_1 -i "e:\in_%06d.exr" -pix_fmt yuv420p -vf scale=w=1280:h=720:out_color_matrix=bt709,setsar=sar=1/1 -sws_flags lanczos+accurate_rnd -sws_dither auto -r 60000/1001 -c:v libx264 -tune film -x264opts bitrate=27500:bluray-compat:vbv-maxrate=28000:vbv-bufsize=27500:level=4.1:keyint=60:open-gop:slices=4:colorprim=bt709:transfer=bt709:colormatrix=bt709:pass=1 -threads 8 -an -f rawvideo NUL ffmpeg -t 10 -framerate 30000/1001 -apply_trc iec61966_2_1 -i "e:\in_%06d.exr" -pix_fmt yuv420p -vf scale=w=1280:h=720:out_color_matrix=bt709,setsar=sar=1/1 -sws_flags lanczos+accurate_rnd -sws_dither auto -r 60000/1001 -c:v libx264 -preset veryslow -tune film -x264opts bitrate=27500:bluray-compat:vbv-maxrate=28000:vbv-bufsize=27500:level=4.1:keyint=60:open-gop:slices=4:colorprim=bt709:transfer=bt709:colormatrix=bt709:pass=2 -threads 8 -an e:\out.264
Here is what Mediainfo says:
Anyway, please let me know if something looks out of whack in my 2-pass ffmpeg script. TIA.Code:General Complete name : E:\out.264 Format : AVC Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec File size : 25.3 MiB Overall bit rate mode : Variable Writing library : x264 core 148 r2762 90a61ec Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=6 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=10 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.15 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=24 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-3 / threads=8 / lookahead_threads=1 / sliced_threads=0 / slices=4 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=1 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=1 / weightp=1 / keyint=60 / keyint_min=1 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=27500 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=28000 / vbv_bufsize=27500 / nal_hrd=vbr / filler=0 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00 Video Format : AVC Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec Format profile : High@L4.1 Format settings, CABAC : Yes Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames Bit rate mode : Variable Bit rate : 27.5 Mbps Maximum bit rate : 28.0 Mbps Width : 1 280 pixels Height : 720 pixels Display aspect ratio : 16:9 Frame rate mode : Variable Color space : YUV Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 Bit depth : 8 bits Scan type : Progressive Writing library : x264 core 148 r2762 90a61ec Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=6 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=10 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.15 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=24 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-3 / threads=8 / lookahead_threads=1 / sliced_threads=0 / slices=4 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=1 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=1 / weightp=1 / keyint=60 / keyint_min=1 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=27500 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=28000 / vbv_bufsize=27500 / nal_hrd=vbr / filler=0 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00 Color range : Limited Color primaries : BT.709 Transfer characteristics : BT.709 Matrix coefficients : BT.709
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
-
Last edited by SameSelf; 26th May 2017 at 13:47.
-
One problem I see from MediaInfo:
Variable framerate flag (not allowed on Blu-ray). Try to add "force-cfr" to x264opts.Last edited by sneaker; 26th May 2017 at 13:29. Reason: Ok, I tested. Output from ffmpeg and x264cli is bit-identical. Either I misremembered or ffmpeg got changed.
-
Great catch! That was it! Thanks so much for your eagle eye!
Last edited by SameSelf; 26th May 2017 at 13:47.
Similar Threads
-
cmd prompt freeze in windows 10, 32 and 64bit?
By marcorocchini in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 4Last Post: 8th Sep 2015, 10:08 -
Windows XP3 - cmd.exe
By blinky88 in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 1Last Post: 10th Mar 2015, 04:36 -
ffmpeg 2-pass question
By DamienS in forum Video ConversionReplies: 18Last Post: 1st Dec 2013, 22:44 -
Why does ffmpeg audio volume cmd -af "volume=50dB" not work?
By pxstein in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 7Last Post: 7th Nov 2013, 11:21 -
ffmpeg cmd line help - height not divisible by 2..
By anyluck in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 2Last Post: 6th Sep 2013, 17:55