VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker or buy a VSO converter software :)
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm new to capturing, and I'm doing some test records using my "Magewell Pro Capture HDMI Card (1-Channel)".
    The programs I'm using to record are OBS & Xsplit Broadcaster.
    My sources are usually fiction content from my cable STB or the BluRay player.
    My ultimate aim is to have content easily playable on my HTPC using MPC-HC/MadVR.

So when I pipe in HDMI video to OBS/XSplit for recording...
    My capture card properties has a section which provides "Input" details...one of which is the "HZ" being sent from my source.
    From my cable STB, I usually get something like "59.9? HZ".
    From my BluRay player, I usually get something like "23.9?" HZ.

In my OBS/XSplit settings, I must set an FPS recording value.
    This is where I'm confused.

For best recording results...am I supposed to match up the HZ input to the FPS recording output exactly?
    - 60 HZ input = 60 FPS recording output
    - 59 HZ input = 59 FPS recording output

Or can I use lower FPS with higher input HZ?
    - 59 HZ input = 29 FPS recording output
    - 60 HZ input = 30 FPS recording output

[EDIT: I have removed the paragraph that originally appeared here, so as to not prejudice answers.]

P.S. My HTPC graphics card has both 60 HZ & 59 HZ display options. I have currently have it set to 59 HZ. I'm not sure if this information is useful or not.
    Last edited by jaibubwan; 18th May 2017 at 18:54.
    Quote Quote  
  2. "HZ" means "cycles-per-second" and sometimes (speaking loosely, or perhaps pretentiously) "frames-per-second." They mean the same thing.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Hz