VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker or buy a VSO converter software :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    England
    Search Comp PM
    I have spent many hours, followed every tutorial I can find, tried interpreting instructions in different ways, but still cannot get Cinelerra image stabilisation to work!

    I am reasonably happy that I can set up the first pass correctly, although even there tutorials differ on whether to set Action to Do Nothing and/or Calculation to Don't Calculate while setting the parameters. So I set Preferences to Play Every Frame, for safety set Action and Calculation to do nothing, select Draw vectors, set up the Translation block size ensuring the Translation search radius is plenty big enough. I usually select Previous frame same block, set Action to Stabilise subpixel and Calculate to Save coords to tracking file. Run the first pass, assuming it looks OK, then what? This is where the wheel falls off for me!

    Do I disable the effect before rewinding, or disable play on the video track and do I do either before disabling Draw vectors and changing Calculation to Load coords, or after? It doesn't seem to make any difference one way or the other because, this is the big question, I can't work out what to do with the file next. The options I can find are 1. Render and re-import the file to a new track or 2. Add another video track, copy the file to the new track and disable playback of the original track. I think I am missing a trick here, it's probably so damned obvious I can't see it, but neither just playing the new track nor rendering it gives me stabilised footage. So the big question is, what am I doing wrong, or what have I missed?

    I shall much appreciate any help you can offer.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    England
    Search Comp PM
    To add a little information in case it helps.

    I am using the Arch Linux latest single-user Cinelerra-GG update on Manjaro KDE. It now has five versions of Motion for video stabilisation: Motion, Motion CV, Motion HV, Motion 2 Point and Motion51. Motion51 is easier to use, but still pretty ineffective, in fact when I upped the sample rate from 1024 to 8096 it added some jitter! I was testing using a standing still, hand-held GoPro clip, so the motion was not too severe.

    I decided to go the whole hog. Using the same clip, I tried the "Jack Crossfire" four pass method, just leaving out the render farm bit and before I started, I went into /tmp and deleted all the Motion files. Still no obvious improvement. Oh how I wish there was a dedicated Cinelerra forum somewhere!

    I always do my best to produce stable footage, but on the odd occasion this is not possible as I'm sure you all well know, so in-post stabilisation would help. Unless or until I can get Cinelerra Motion to work, my choices are to stabilise in Kdenlive, relatively easy now both Cinelerra and Kdenlive input and output ProRes, stabilise in Blender, more trouble as I'd need to transcode to DNxHD to do it or, even more hassle, transcode to AVI, boot up virtual Windows and use DeShaker.

    Unless someone can tell me different, my conclusion has to be that either Motion simply does not work, or it will not stabilise the kind of motion I want it to. Or, as I said before, I am doing something wrong. Any ideas please?
    Last edited by DeJay; 23rd May 2017 at 03:04.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I just did a site specific search of this site for cinelerra and got very few hits. So I don't think there are many users here.

    I also searched for a cinelerra user forum. There is on e on their site but it's about impossible to navigate and there doesn't seem to be much useful there either.

    My impression is that cinelerra is a pro level editor and aimed at pros who don't need much support.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    There are some YouTube videos about Cinelerra you might look at if you haven't yet.
    I just did a internet search for: ' youtube, cinelerra ' and got some hits.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    England
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for your replies.

    Hoser Rob: There doesn't seem to be many users anywhere, unless as you suggest they are all pros and just don't post. I'd imagine that pros would expect stable footage and wouldn't need stabilisation anyway. It is claimed that it is a professional NLE, I can only say I prefer the output quality to what I can achieve with Kdenlive or any of the other Linux NLEs.

    Agreed, that Cinelerra forum, such as it is, is pretty useless.

    Redwudz: Thanks. I have searched and searched over the years and have most of the on-line tutorials bookmarked already, it's still possible I have missed some, of course. I also have all the manuals.

    Things have changes with the latest incarnation of Cinelerra, GG, which is ffmpeg based, but the older versions are Quicktime based and absolute pigs to get to work as a beginner. I taught myself to use the older versions with the aid of tutorials and the manuals, not to mention many hours of testing, but I could never and still can't, find out why stabilisation won't work properly for me. It isn't an OS thing, I have tried it on several distros over the years and I am now using the single user (not installable) GG versions which are not reliant on the OS for codecs etc.

    If experienced help is not forthcoming, it looks as though it won't be from your comments, I can stabilise footage in Kdenlive when necessary. It will be no more effort than using DeShaker in VirtualDub when I was a Vegas user, but still a pain. I'll make sure it won't be required very often!

    I shall keep trying, there are still three stabilisation plugins to try and who knows, one of them might just work! It's so frustrating not having been able to crack it so far!
    Last edited by DeJay; 23rd May 2017 at 08:07.
    Quote Quote  
  6. another option is libvidstab in ffmpeg , but it's more difficult to tweak/adjust parameters on the fly

    are you getting zero effect (same input as output) , or just poor results ? gopro usually has pretty bad rolling shutter (cmos artifacts, wobble, jello), so it's entirely possible if you're getting poor results, it's partially from the rolling shutter
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    England
    Search Comp PM
    In this instance I am testing with a GoPro clip, but I have never got it to work with footage from any of my cameras. The clip I am using was shot hand held, standing still and there is no fast motion in the frame.

    It's difficult to explain quite what is happening, but generally there is no stabilisation that I can see. Occasionally I think I can detect removal of the slightest movement, but it's so slight I am not sure. Testing Motion51, if I raise Samples from the default 1024 to 8096, motion increases. Today, trying Motion 2 Point following the Jack Crossfire 4 pass tutorial, I managed to substantially increase the shakes. At least I got a result, even if it is the wrong one. Motion, Motion CV andMotion HV do nothing that I can see.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads