VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Newbie here with a question. A popular video series comes on a dual-layer DVD with fairly secure protection, but there is both a freeware and a paid program that can sort-out the disc and rip the whole disc to an ISO image on my hard drive. At that point the ISO is playable just fine using VLC, for example. But when I simply burn the image to a dual-layer blank, the first episode plays well on a standard BD/DVD player, but the second episode (which I assume is on the second layer) plays in fits and starts, virtually unwatchable. I am able to convert the ISO to MP4, and from there burn both episodes on a single-layer disc, but video quality isn't quite as good, and subtitles are lost.

What I'd like to do is split the ISO into two episodes and burn each onto a separate, single-layer DVD, in hopes that the original quality and access to subtitles, alternative languages, etc. will be available. Most ISO-splitting discussions I find on this forum and elsewhere assume that the user wants to convert to MP4, .avi or other format, I can't find a discussion on how to simply break the original ISO into two smaller ISOs. Can someone lend a hand here?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I would load the ISO in a software like DVD Shrink or DVD Rebuilder, blank half of the episodes, export it and create a new ISO from that. Then repeat the process but with the other half of the episodes blanked. Maybe you also need to blank some extras or remove superfluous audio tracks, compress menu etc. to make them small enough because half of episodes + menus/extras plus half of episodes + menus/extras could be bigger than 2x DVD5.

Or find a software that does rip to mkv/mp4 with subtitles.

Which software are you using to decrypt? I vaguely remember AnyDVD dis-recommending ISO rip mode.
    Last edited by sneaker; 14th Apr 2017 at 14:57.
    Quote Quote