Either that ... or you learn to be more patient and wait for more founded replies than mine. A forum is not a live chat. The best answer may arrive a week later...
+ Reply to Thread
Results 31 to 60 of 60
-
-
As LigH.de mentioned, the NASM assembler is now required to compile the x264 and x265 video encoders as they now support AVX-512 optimizations, they also require a very recent version to work (2.13.02 or later), I've noticed Ubuntu 16.04 LTS does not detect the latest stable release and picks up version 2.11.08 instead, I therefore recommend using Ubuntu 17.10 (or later), Fedora or WSL for this process instead!
See: https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/pull/1081
However, you can compile the latest version of NASM with the following command in Ubuntu 16.04 LTS as mentioned here: https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/developer/build-windows.htmlLast edited by AntW93; 14th Apr 2018 at 13:15.
-
vmware workstation player with ubuntu 16.04.3
got an error while compiling handbrake, forgot to take a screenshot.
after that I saw AntW93 tips, then I use ubuntu 17.10.1 instead, everything went smoothly and compiled successfully.
no problem using the compiled hb.dll on my windows 10 with handbrake 1.0.7
million thanks to author and everyone for the guide -
A pity MSYS2 under Windows seems to be unsupported; I tried to run the guide in a MinGW64 shell of MABS, instead of a real Linux host:
Code:$ ./configure --cross=x86_64-w64-mingw32 --enable-x265 --enable-qsv --enable-fdk-aac --enable-libav-aac --launch-jobs=1 --force --launch probe: host tuple...(fail) code 1 + ./make/config.guess
Code:## GNU host tuple probe: determine canonical platform type
-
It is apparently possible to build HandBrake for Windows using MSYS2 as mentioned here: https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/pull/506 and: https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/issues/1054
I have yet to test this for myself though, WSL is also faster than MSYS! -
Thanks for the Guide , but I had one small glitch in following it ,I use Ubuntu on Windows 10 and windows use 16.4 which come with old NASM repository so i tried to build a newer version of it according to the guide
Code:curl -O http://www.nasm.us/pub/nasm/releasebuilds/2.13.02/nasm-2.13.02.tar.bz2 tar -xf nasm-2.13.02.tar.bz2 cd nasm-2.13.02 ./configure --prefix=/usr/local --enable-sections --enable-lto make -j$(nproc) sudo make install source ~/.bashrc cd ..
Code:curl -O http://www.nasm.us/pub/nasm/releasebuilds/2.13.02/nasm-2.13.02.tar.bz2 sudo tar -xf nasm-2.13.02.tar.bz2 cd nasm-2.13.02 sudo ./configure --prefix=/usr/local --enable-sections --enable-lto sudo make -j$(nproc) sudo make install source ~/.bashrc cd ..
-
@JEskandari
Thanks for the heads up, the location of the NASM source is indeed wrong, the instructions give the location with http protocol, but it requires https for the tarball path as mentioned here: https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=37605
I have now updated the guide to reflect these changes!
As for VidCoder, I'm not sure why you no longer have 10bit/12bit x264 and x265 support, try building it again in Ubuntu 17.10 or later in a VM to save time, as WSL is quite slow due to the way it handles disk access! -
Just finished compiling HB 1.1.0 with AAC-FDK. Currently running an encode to see if it fixes the whistling wind problem I was having on some files. It took around 2-3 hours to get through the process but I already had VirtualBox installed so that probably saved me a few minutes. I mostly used the instructions at handbrake.fr for compiling the Windows version, but I referenced your guide when it failed and I found your explanation of what to do with the export PATH line to be more clear. Anyway, pain in the butt and I can't believe there isn't a good open source AAC encoder available that could be distributed with the HB installer. I did notice that AC3 was working better than the avcodec AAC, but I read AAC is better. Is AAC really better or are they about the same when you have good working versions of both?
-
AC3 (Dolby Digital) is about as good as MP3.
AAC is the next generation of audio encoding, more efficient than both. Ogg Vorbis is similar. And for sane bitrates, ffmpeg's own AAC encoder is not even bad.
The top format today is Opus; but not all containers support all audio formats. -
I have a doubt.
After compile the latest version (20180703) the version of x256 included in hb.dll is 2.6, but the version included in the nighty is 2.8.
What am I doing wrong?
Thanks -
-
-
My complete process:
Code:sudo apt-get install autoconf automake bison build-essential bzip2 cmake curl flex gcc git gzip g++ intltool libtool libtool-bin m4 make patch pax pkg-config python tar wget yasm zlib1g-dev sudo apt autoremove rm -rf HandBrake/ git clone https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake.git cd HandBrake/ git tag git checkout tags/1.1.1 cd HandBrake/scripts/mingw-w64-build x86_64.distclean HandBrake/scripts/mingw-w64-build x86_64 export PATH="/home/jmraja/toolchains/mingw-w64-5.0.3-gcc-7.2.0/mingw-w64-x86_64/bin:${PATH}" x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc -v cd HandBrake ./configure --cross=x86_64-w64-mingw32 --enable-x265 --enable-qsv --enable-fdk-aac --enable-libav-aac --launch-jobs=1 --force --launch cd
-
In this case I believe the HandBrake script explicitly downloads x265 with the 2.6 version tag to ensure that HandBrake knows the API of x265 at this revision. There are often changes to supported options in x265, and HandBrake might fail using x265 after such changes if it doesn't adapt to them.
A next guess ... when you clone from HandBrake.git, you will probably retrieve the stable or master branch. I wonder if there is also a development branch, then you may have to alter the "git clone" or the following "git checkout tags" command accordingly, to retrieve that "nightly" source instead? -
Thanks, thanks, solved. Now I've x265 2.8 !!!
It was solved by commenting two lines. I also had to remove the --enable-libav-aac flag from the configure because it was causing an error.
Now my procedure is like this:
Code:sudo apt-get install autoconf automake bison build-essential bzip2 cmake curl flex gcc git gzip g++ intltool libtool libtool-bin m4 make patch pax pkg-config python tar wget yasm zlib1g-dev sudo apt autoremove rm -rf HandBrake/ git clone https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake.git cd HandBrake/ # git tag # git checkout tags/1.1.1 cd HandBrake/scripts/mingw-w64-build x86_64.distclean HandBrake/scripts/mingw-w64-build x86_64 export PATH="/home/jmraja/toolchains/mingw-w64-5.0.3-gcc-7.3.0/mingw-w64-x86_64/bin:${PATH}" x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc -v cd HandBrake # ./configure --cross=x86_64-w64-mingw32 --enable-x265 --enable-qsv --enable-fdk-aac --enable-libav-aac --launch-jobs=1 --force --launch ./configure --cross=x86_64-w64-mingw32 --enable-x265 --enable-qsv --enable-fdk-aac --launch-jobs=1 --force --launch cd
Last edited by jmrf06; 4th Jul 2018 at 18:47.
-
I'm currently working on a major overhaul of this guide in preparation for the next stable release of HandBrake (version 1.2.0), which has now switched from Libav 12.3 to FFmpeg 4.0 and will therefore come with an improved default AAC encoder which is no longer considered beta/experimental, Nvidia NVENC encoding will also finally be available in HandBrake as well as AMD's VCE encoder (for Windows only)!
-
-
I believe its much better than the Libav AAC encoder that HandBrake has been using as its default AAC encoder for Windows and Linux for quite some time now, however the FDK-AAC encoder is still better than the FFmpeg 4.0 AAC encoder because it offers HE-AAC support and encodes more efficiently producing higher quality audio.
Also, it states on this website (https://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php?title=AAC_encoders) that "The native AAC encoder created in FFmpeg, and forked with Libav, was considered experimental and poor. A significant amount of work was done for the 3.0 release of FFmpeg (February 2016) to make its version usable and competitive with the rest of the AAC encoders. Libav has not merged this work and continues to use the older version of the AAC encoder. These encoders are LGPL-licensed open-source and can be built for any platform that the FFmpeg or Libav frameworks can be built."
And that "both FFmpeg and Libav can use the Fraunhofer FDK AAC library via libfdk-aac, and while the FFmpeg native encoder has become stable and good enough for common use, FDK is still considered the highest quality encoder available for use with FFmpeg. Libav also recommends using FDK AAC if it is available."
I hope this answers your question! -
I'm trying to compile using the guide from this thread but it's not working, it doesn't give error but just can't at some point.... very weird, not sure what's gone wrong (using ubuntu desktop 18.04.1 in vmware to compile handbrake 1.1.2)
Then i google search and found there's official guide from Handbrake, I followed it and everything gone smoothly and successful.
https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/developer/build-windows.html -
@CyrusWong
As I said before, I'm currently working on a major overhaul of this guide in preperation for the next stable release of HandBrake (1.2.0), which is not far from being publicly released now, as you can see here: https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/milestone/10, but its going to be a while before I finally upload it, as its quite involved and time consuming, and is merely a hobby project of mine!
My advice for now is to not even bother compiling HandBrake to get FDK at the moment, because the current stable release (1.1.2) has a lot of bugs which have now been fixed for the upcoming 1.2.0 release, and therefore the nightly builds of HandBrake are quite unstable at the moment!
You should therefore wait until 1.2.0 is released before attempting to compile HandBrake from source to get FDK-AAC for the time being, please be patient! -
So far, so good (using "Ubuntu" via Windows Subsystem for Linux on Windows 10), up to Step 9.
Upon running
Code:./configure --cross=x86_64-w64-mingw32 --enable-x265 --enable-qsv --enable-fdk-aac --enable-libav-aac --launch-jobs=1 --force --launch
Code:probe: build tuple...(pass) x86_64-pc-linux-gnu find: ar...(pass) /usr/bin/ar find: cp...(pass) /bin/cp find: gm4...(pass) /usr/bin/m4 find: mkdir...(pass) /bin/mkdir find: gpatch...(pass) /usr/bin/patch find: rm...(pass) /bin/rm find: ranlib...(pass) /usr/bin/ranlib find: strip...(pass) /usr/bin/strip find: gtar...(pass) /bin/tar find: python3...(pass) /usr/bin/python3 find: gcc...(pass) /usr/bin/gcc find: gmake...(pass) /usr/bin/make find: autoconf...(pass) /usr/bin/autoconf find: automake...(pass) /usr/bin/automake find: libtool...(pass) /usr/bin/libtool find: lipo...(fail) not found find: pkg-config...(pass) /usr/bin/pkg-config find: meson...(fail) not found : name[0] = meson ERROR: unable to continue; configure stop.
-
I believe it requires a few more dependencies/packages to install and a different command to access the 1.3 releases of HandBrake as listed here: https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.3.0/developer/build-windows.html
I'm still working on an update for this guide, I hope to have it uploaded soon! -
yup, installing the additional dependencies listed at the site https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.3.0/developer/build-windows.html solved the errors
what I did was I ran this: sudo apt-get install automake autoconf autopoint build-essential cmake gcc git intltool libtool libtool-bin m4 make nasm ninja-build patch pkg-config python tar zlib1g-dev (I noticed 1 or 2 actually were installed, the rest was ok)
than this: sudo apt-get install meson (because I'm using latest 19.10)
and than: sudo apt-get install bison bzip2 curl flex g++ gzip pax (I actually ran this one just for the sake of it even though mingw toolchain was already compiled successfully; apparently it was needed to correctly compile the mingw toolchain)
after doing these 3 the final build ran; no errors interrupting -
@AntW93 thx for guide v3
On Kubuntu 19.10
[Attachment 52187 - Click to enlarge]
Vidcoder with fdk aac -
Hi,
Using latest Ubuntu 20 release I get this error:
error: subprocess returned non-zero error code (1)
After I did this:
“scripts/mingw-w64-build x86_64 /home/username/toolchains/”
Anyone please help?
Thank you
Edit: Looks like I didn't allocate enough hard disk space in my VM. Using Virtualbox was able to resize the disk from 12 gb to 20 gb though
strongly recommend 24gb for anyone else. To the Op please add that to the instructions: Need minimal 20-24 GB of storage space.
ThanksLast edited by davidm71; 21st May 2020 at 13:17. Reason: Solution
-
I have a strange problem following this with compiling Handbrake 1.4.1 in WSL on Debian 11. Compilation works fine and all, but in Handbrake GUI in the dimensions tab it's impossible to set it to anything else then 32x32...
Though, the result will have the same resolution as input. But there is no preview on the summary screen and none in the preview window. -
Similar Threads
-
Handbrake without FDK-AAC, new FFMPEG AAC encoder viable alternative?
By jaggy in forum Video ConversionReplies: 15Last Post: 27th Apr 2017, 11:31 -
Ac3 to fdk-aac
By Mildragon in forum AudioReplies: 8Last Post: 4th Jan 2016, 14:06 -
[AAC] AAC (avcodec), AAC (FDK) or HE-AAC (FDK)
By yopmail in forum AudioReplies: 10Last Post: 3rd Feb 2015, 22:17 -
Whats the difference between AAC (avcodec) and AAC Passthru in Handbrake?
By Nazomon in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 1Last Post: 13th Dec 2014, 17:49 -
Handbrake - AC3 5.0 Ch - Can't maintain 5.0 Ch to AAC or AC3(ffmpeg)
By kingaddi in forum DVD RippingReplies: 30Last Post: 26th Aug 2012, 20:27