VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    Hi there.

I'm new here so a big HELLO to everyone.

I'm wondering if you could assist me regarding using software to improve the audio track quality of an mp4 video file I have.

Which are the best programs to use with Windows 10?

I'm by no means an expert in this field but I'm quite technically minded and eager to learn so I'd prefer software which is more in depth and takes more learning rather than basic software which may not have as many editing options.

If you would be kind enough to spare a moment of your time to assist I'd be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.

Andrew
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hello, welcome to the forums.
    Improve it, how? what's wrong with it and what are you hoping to achieve by enhancing it?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Hi transporterfan.

Thanks for the speedy reply.

It's a video I downloaded from YouTube which does not seem to be available from anywhere else. I downloaded it for my Dad. It's an organ recital from the Anglican Cathedral in Liverpool UK and the sound has a small amount of static and the high notes are a bit shrill too. I was just wondering if it would be possible to reduce these impurities.
    Quote Quote  
  4. It is usually far easier to to give advice if a short clip of the audio is posted, with details of what is perceived to be the problem.
    The cheapest software solutions (free) are the Audacity and Ocenaudio editors.
    Drop the mp4 onto these, alter the audio, save off (as AAC, that is .m4a file) and mux using something like mp4muxer.
    There is a learning curve with either of these. For what you want, the simplest way is to (probably) use Ocenaudio.
    Look for the 31 band graphic equalizer in the Effects tab. Have a tweak with that and mux the new audio file with the original video file.
    Audacity can remove anomalies, but in doing so, it can alter other characteristics of the audio.

Edit: